September 30, 2008

Three States Added to South Carolina RTC Permits

The South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED) has added Virginia, Florida and Kentucky to the list of states whose valid Right-to-Carry (RTC) permits will now be recognized in South Carolina. These additions are due to the passage of H. 3212, the RTC reciprocity reform legislation passed earlier this year.

H. 3212 made South Carolina a "recognition" state instead of a "reciprocity" state. This means South Carolina would honor other state's CWPs even without a reciprocal agreement.

SLED would no longer be able to deny reciprocity with other states. For example, SLED does not allow reciprocity with Florida because Florida's CWP law does not specifically state former felons can not get a Florida CWP.

The bill's primary sponsor was M. A. Pitts.

Add your comments ...

New to Gun Tests? Register for Free!

Already Registered? Log In