New Arizona Law Allows Concealed Carry in Bars
PHOENIXA new Arizona law that went into effect September 30 allows guns into Arizona bars and restaurants that serve alcohol.
Under the law, backed by the National Rifle Association, the 138,350 people with concealed-weapons permits in Arizona will be allowed to bring their guns into bars and restaurants that haven't posted signs banning them.
Those carrying the weapons aren't allowed to drink alcohol.
If a bar owner does not post a state-approved sign, such as an 8 1/2-by-11-inch sign that says "No Firearms Allowed" and shows a red slash over a gun, then CCL holders can bring firearms into the bar.
Arizona has 5,800 bars and restaurants that serve alcohol, but the state doesn't track how many of them ban guns. The department has provided 1,300 signs to bar and restaurant owners who went to the department in person or asked to have signs mailed to them.
The NRA says 41 states now allow guns in businesses that serve alcohol.
Taking a gun into a bar banning the weapons would be a misdemeanor punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a fine of up to $500.
An Important Note for GunReports.Com Readers:
Our goal on this website is to foster a free expression of views while reining in language that crosses the line of civil discourse. Accordingly, the comments areas are intended to expand the knowledge of all users of this site. But site administrators wish to discourage the use of profanity, insults, disrespect, the advocacy of lawlessness, violence or sedition, or attempts to impinge on the rights of others.
While GunReports.Com encourages robust discourse that furthers our understanding of all the issues affecting gun owners, comments that break GunReports.Coms rules will be removed. In addition, we reserve the right to edit or delete individual comments, and in extreme cases, to ban commenters at our discretion.