July 28, 2009

Jay Raymond Named 2009 National Progress Position Air Pistol Champion

CAMP PERRY, Ohio - Jay Raymond, 16, of Canton, Mississippi, fired an aggregate score of 821.8-15 to win the individual gold medal in the 2009 USA Shooting/NRA Sports National Progressive Pistol Championship on July 12 at the CMP’s Camp Perry Air Gun Center.

Matthew Pueppke, 17, of Amenia, North Dakota captured the silver medal with a total aggregate score of 812.6, narrowly defeating Kelsey Imig, 18, of Westminster, Massachusetts, by three-tenths of a point.

Imig won bronze, but also won gold in the women's championship, firing an aggregate score of 812.3. Pueppke and Imig both fired in Division A, which is designated for pre-charged air pistols (CO2 or compressed air).

Mississippi junior Jay Raymond

Mississippi junior Jay Raymond was named the 2009 Progressive Pistol Individual Champion. As a result of his performance, he was invited to join the National Junior Olympic Shooting Team, sponsored by USA Shooting.

An Important Note for GunReports.Com Readers:

Our goal on this website is to foster a free expression of views while reining in language that crosses the line of civil discourse. Accordingly, the comments areas are intended to expand the knowledge of all users of this site. But site administrators wish to discourage the use of profanity, insults, disrespect, the advocacy of lawlessness, violence or sedition, or attempts to impinge on the rights of others.

While GunReports.Com encourages robust discourse that furthers our understanding of all the issues affecting gun owners, comments that break GunReports.Com’s rules will be removed. In addition, we reserve the right to edit or delete individual comments, and in extreme cases, to ban commenters at our discretion.

--Tim Cole
Publisher, GunReports.Com

Add your comments ...

New to Gun Tests? Register for Free!

Already Registered? Log In