Wyoming is a shall-issue state with concealed carry permits or Concealed Firearms Permit (CFP) applications are processed on a local level by the county sheriff’s office and issued by the Wyoming Division of Criminal Investigation. Anyone resident of Wyoming at least 21 years old can apply for a concealed carry license or Concealed Firearms Permit (CFP) in Wyoming.
Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Gun in Wyoming?
No, there is no waiting period to buy a gun in Wyoming.
Is A Permit Required To Purchase A Handgun In Wyoming?
No, no permit is required to purchased a firearm in Wyoming.
Do You Need To Register Handguns in Wyoming?
No, handguns, rifles and shotguns do not have to be registered in Wyoming.
Who Is Eligible To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Firearms Permit (CFP) in Wyoming?
Any Wyoming state resident who is at least 18 years of age can apply for a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Firearms Permit (CFP).
Is Firearms Training A Requirement in Wyoming For a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Firearms Permit (CFP)?
Yes, in Wyoming a firearms training course must be completed to obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Firearms Permit (CFP).
What Are The Requirements To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Firearms Permit (CFP) in Wyoming?
Guidelines to obtain a Wyoming Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Firearms Permit (CFP):
- Be at least 21 years old
- Must be a legal resident of Wyoming
- Complete a firearms safety course
- Must meet federal law requirements
What Are The Steps To Obtain A Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Firearms Permit (CFP) in Wyoming?
In Wyoming you need to apply for a Concealed Handgun Permit or Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) by downloading an application from the Wyoming Division of Criminal Investigation website at: wyomingdci.wyo.gov. You will be fingerprinted when you submit the conceal carry application. You will be notified in 90 days if your application has been approved.
Step 1: Complete a firearms safety course
Step 2: Download and fill out the application, and print 4 copies
Step 3: Go to your local sheriff’s office with the application, firearm training certificate, photo ID, and money order for fee
Step 4: Within 5 days of submitting the application, take a copy of the application to a Wyoming DOT Driver Services office to have your picture taken for the permit.
How Much Does A Wyoming Concealed Carry Permit Cost?
The fee for a Wyoming Concealed Handgun Permit is $64, however, there may be a fingerprinting fee depending on the sheriff’s office.
Does Wyoming Recognize Concealed Carry Pistol Permits From Other States?
Yes, Wyoming honors concealed carry permits from other states that recognize Wyoming concealed carry permits.
Is Wyoming a Constitutional Carry State?
Yes, Wyoming is a constitutional carry state.
Is Wyoming an Open Carry State?
Yes, open carry is legal in Wyoming without a permit for anyone at least 21 years old who can legally possess a firearm.
Is Wyoming a Castle Doctrine State?
Yes, Wyoming is a Castle Doctrine state with a Stand Your Ground law. There is no duty to retreat before defending yourself.
Are AR-Style and Other Semi-Auto Rifles Legal in Wyoming?
Yes, semi-auto rifles are legal to buy and possess in Wyoming.
Are Standard-Capacity Magazines Allowed in Wyoming?
Yes. There are no state laws restricting magazine capacities in Wyoming.
Does Wyoming Have Gun Storage Laws?
No, Wyoming does not have a gun storage law.
Is Wyoming a Red Flag State?
No, Wyoming does not have a Red Flag law.
DISCLAIMER: Gun-Tests.com provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.