Colorado is a shall-issue state that allows conceal carry for anyone 21 years of age. Concealed Handgun Permits (CHP) are issued by local sheriff’s offices.
Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Gun in Colorado?
No, there is no waiting period to buy a gun in Colorado.
Is a permit required to purchase a handgun in Colorado?
No, a permit is not required to purchase a handgun in Colorado.
Who Is Eligible To Obtain a Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) in Colorado?
Any state resident who is at least 21 years of age.
Is Firearms Training A Requirement in Colorado For A Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP)?
Yes, Colorado requires an applicant to attend a state-approved firearms training course before applying for a Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP).
What Are The Requirements To Obtain a Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) in Colorado?
Guidelines to obtain a Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP):
- Be at least 21 years old
- Must be a legal resident of Colorado
- Must meet federal qualifications to purchase a handgun
- Completed a handgun training course
What Are The Steps To Obtain A Conceal Handgun Permit (CHP) in Colorado?
Applications for a Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) are available online at your local sheriff’s office. You will be fingerprinted and a background check will be run.
Step 1: Complete an unsigned application
Step 2: Compete a firearm training competency course
Step 3: Submit the application, firearm training documentation, and fees
How much does a Colorado concealed carry permit cost?
The fee for a Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) is $52.50, which includes background check fee and FBI fingerprint fee CCIC fingerprint check.
Does Colorado Recognize Pistol Permits From Other States?
Colorado will recognize a valid concealed carry permit issued by another state only if the issuing state recognizes/honors a Colorado concealed handgun permit.
Is Colorado a Constitutional Carry State?
No, Colorado is not a constitutional carry state.
Is Colorado an Open Carry State?
Yes, open carry is allowed in Colorado without a permit for any person who is at least 18 years old and who can legally possess a firearm, however, some municipalities such as Denver County, prohibit the open carry.
Is Colorado a Stand Your Ground State?
Yes, Colorado is a Castle Doctrine or Stand Your Ground state where there is no duty to retreat.
Are AR-Style and Other Semi-Auto Rifles Legal in Colorado?
Yes, AR-style and other semi-Auto rifles are legal in Colorado; however, some local restrictions or prohibitions on assault weapons may exist. Denver, for example, has an ordinance that bans so-called “assault weapons.”
Are Standard-Capacity Magazines Allowed in Colorado?
No. In Colorado, magazines holding more than 15 rounds are illegal.
What Are Colorado Gun Storage Laws?
Yes, Colorado has a safe storage law, which means a person in Colorado is criminally liable if they knowingly provide a handgun to any person under 18 years old.
Is Colorado a Red Flag State?
Yes, Colorado has a red flag law. Colorado’s red flag allows Law Enforcement or a family member to petition the Court to temporarily remove guns and ammunition from people who have been deemed by a judge to pose a danger to themselves or others for up to a year.
DISCLAIMER: Gun-Tests.com provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.