Rhode Island Gun Laws

If you’re looking to obtain a legal firearm in Rhode Island, here are some facts about Rhode Island gun laws.

0

Rhode Island is a shall-issue state. Concealed carry is legal in Rhode Island with a License to Carry Concealed Weapons (LCCW) and licenses are available to residents at least 21 years old. Concealed carry permits are issued at the local level by the police chief or by the attorney general.

Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Firearm in Rhode Island?

Yes, there is a 7-day waiting period to buy a firearm in Rhode Island.

Is A Permit Required To Purchase A Handgun In Rhode Island?

Yes, in Rhode Island a permit is required to purchase handguns; there is no permit required to buy long guns.

Do You Need To Register Handguns in Rhode Island?

No, handguns, rifles and shotguns do not have to be registered in Rhode Island.

Who Is Eligible To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or License to Carry Concealed Weapons (LCCW) in Rhode Island?

Any Rhode Island state resident who is at least 21 years of age can apply for a Concealed Carry Permit or License to Carry Concealed Weapons (LCCW).

Is Firearms Training A Requirement in Rhode Island For a Concealed Carry Permit or License to Carry Concealed Weapons (LCCW)?

Yes, in Rhode Island a firearms training course is required for a for a Concealed Carry Permit or License to Carry Concealed Weapons (LCCW).

What Are The Requirements To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or License to Carry Concealed Weapons (LCCW) in Rhode Island?

Guidelines to obtain a Rhode Island Concealed Carry Permit or License to Carry Concealed Weapons (LCCW):

  • Rhode Island resident, 21 years of age
  • Complete a firearms safety course
  • Have reason to fear an injury to his or her person or property or have any other proper reason to be licensed
  • 3 letters of reference
  • Must meet federal law requirements

What Are The Steps To Obtain A Concealed Carry Permit or License to Carry Concealed Weapons (LCCW) in Rhode Island?

In Rhode Island you need to apply for a Concealed Carry Permit or License to Carry Concealed Weapons (LCCW) by downloading and completing an application on the City of Providence website: providenceri.gov. You will need 3 letters of references. If the license is to be used for employment, a typed and signed letter of explanation must be submitted on company letterhead along with a copy of the business license as proof that the business exists. If the license is not for employment, a typed and dated letter must be submitted by the applicant stating the reasons why a license is needed on a full-time basis. You will be notified in 90 days if your application has been approved.

Step 1: Complete a firearms training course

Step 2: Download and complete an application then have it notarized

Step 3: Obtain 3 reference letters then have them notarized

Step 4: Submit application to the attorney general or local police chief or a city hall official along with 2 FBI fingerprint cards, 2 forms of ID, 2 passport-style photographs, 2 copies of your birth certificate, firearms training certificate, letter with reason for permit, and fee

How Much Does A Rhode Island Concealed Carry Permit Cost?

The fee for a Rhode Island Concealed Handgun Permit or License to Carry Concealed Weapons (LCCW) is $40.

Does Rhode Island Recognize Concealed Carry Pistol Permits From Other States?

No, Rhode Island does not honor concealed carry permits issued by other states.

Is Rhode Island a Constitutional Carry State?

No, Rhode Island is not a constitutional carry state.

Is Rhode Island an Open Carry State?

In Rhode Island, open carry is legal with a Rhode Island License to Carry Concealed Weapons (LCCW) issued by the attorney general. A License to Carry Concealed Weapons (LCCW) issued by local authorities is only legal for concealed carry, not open carry.

Is Rhode Island a Castle Doctrine State?

Yes, Rhode Island is a Castle Doctrine state. There is no duty to retreat before defending yourself.

Are Assault Rifles Legal in Rhode Island?

Yes, assault rifles are legal in Rhode Island.

Are High Capacity Magazines Allowed in Rhode Island?

No, in Rhode Island, magazines capable of holding more than 10 rounds are banned.

Does Rhode Island Have Gun Storage Laws?

Yes, the Rhode Island gun storage law requires firearms be stored locked and kept from persons under 16 years of age.

Is Rhode Island a Red Flag State?

Yes, Rhode Island is a Red Flag state. A law enforcement agency may file a petition that shall enjoin the respondent from having in his or her possession, custody or control any firearms and shall further enjoin the respondent from purchasing, receiving, or attempting to purchase or receive, any firearms while the order is in effect.

DISCLAIMER: Gun-Tests.com provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.

Previous articlePennsylvania Gun Laws
Next articleSouth Carolina Gun Laws
Having been trained by many top-shelf handgun, shotgun, AR carbine, and long-range shooting instructors, Robert Sadowski brings a user's perspective to Gun Tests. He has authored and edited 15 books on firearm values, firearm disassembly and assembly, and gun guides. His Book Of Glock (Skyhorse Publishing) debuted as an Amazon #1 New Release and is a must-read for the Glock enthusiast. His latest book, 9MM - Guide to America's Most Popular Caliber (Gun Digest Books), is an indispensable resource on the 9mm and understanding the cartridge's performance for concealed carry, home defense, or competition. Over the past two decades, Sadowski has written for many magazines and websites, including tacticallife.com, range365.com, shootingillustrated.com, personaldefenseworld.com and more. His print work has appeared in Combat Handguns, Ballistic, Real World Survivor, Guns Digest, Guns of the Old West, SHOT Business, and more. He is currently the Treasurer/Secretary of the Glock Collectors Association. After receiving an MA from New York University, he worked for a number of magazine publishers and advertising agencies. Sadowski is a lifelong hunter, competitive shooter, and native of Connecticut. He now lives in North Carolina to take full advantage of our 2nd Amendment privilege.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here