Georgia Gun Laws

If you’re looking to obtain a legal firearm in Georgia, here are some facts about Georgia gun laws.


Georgia is a shall-issue state with concealed carry permits or Weapons Carry License (WCL) issued at the county level at the probate court in your county. Anyone resident of Georgia at least 21 years old can apply for a concealed carry license or Weapons Carry License (WCL) in Georgia.

Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Gun in Georgia?

No, there is no waiting period to buy a gun in Georgia.

Is A Permit Required To Purchase A Handgun In Georgia?

No, no permit is required to purchased a firearm in Georgia.

Do You Need To Register Handguns in Georgia?

No, handguns, rifles and shotguns do not have to be registered in Georgia.

Who Is Eligible To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Weapons Carry License (WCL) in Georgia?

Any Georgia state resident who is at least 21 years of age can apply for a Concealed Carry Permit or Weapons Carry License (WCL).

Is Firearms Training A Requirement in Georgia For a Concealed Carry Permit or Weapons Carry License (WCL)?

No, there is no requirement to take a firearms training course in Georgia to obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Weapons Carry License (WCL).

What Are The Requirements To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Weapons Carry License (WCL) in Georgia?

Guidelines to obtain a Georgia Concealed Carry Permit or Weapons Carry License:

  • Be at least 21 years old
  • Must be a legal resident of Georgia
  • Must meet federal law requirements

What Are The Steps To Obtain A Concealed Carry Permit or Weapons Carry License (WCL) in Georgia?

In Georgia you need to apply for a Concealed Handgun Permit or Weapons Carry License by picking up or downloading an application from your probate court in your county. You will be notified in 60 days if your application has been approved.

Step 1: Download or pick up an application and fill out the application

Step 2: Take the completed application, state ID, proof of residence, passport, and fee to the local probate court in your county

How Much Does A Georgia Concealed Carry Permit Cost?

The fee for a Georgia Concealed Handgun Permit or Weapons Carry License is $75, but the fee can vary by county.

Does Georgia Recognize Concealed Carry Pistol Permits From Other States?

Yes, Georgia recognizes concealed carry permits from all states.

Is Georgia a Constitutional Carry State?

Yes, Georgia is a constitutional carry state.

Is Georgia an Open Carry State?

Yes, open carry is legal in Georgia with a Concealed Handgun Permit or Weapons Carry License.

Is Georgia a Stand Your Ground State?

Yes, Georgia is a Castle Doctrine state or a Stand Your Ground state. There is no duty to retreat before defending yourself.

Are AR-Style and Other Semi-Auto Rifles Legal in Georgia?

Yes, magazine-fed semi-auto rifles are legal to buy and possess in Georgia.

Are Standard-Capacity Magazines Allowed in Georgia?

Yes, in Georgia, there are no state magazine-capacity restrictions.

Does Georgia Have Gun Storage Laws?

No, Georgia does not have a gun storage law.

Is Georgia a Red Flag State?

No, Georgia is not a Red Flag law state.

DISCLAIMER: provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.

Previous articleWashington, D.C. Gun Laws 2023
Next articleFlorida Gun Laws 2023
Robert Sadowski
Having been trained by many top-shelf handgun, shotgun, AR carbine, and long-range shooting instructors, Robert Sadowski brings a user's perspective to Gun Tests. He has authored and edited 15 books on firearm values, firearm disassembly and assembly, and gun guides. His Book Of Glock (Skyhorse Publishing) debuted as an Amazon #1 New Release and is a must-read for the Glock enthusiast. His latest book, 9MM - Guide to America's Most Popular Caliber (Gun Digest Books), is an indispensable resource on the 9mm and understanding the cartridge's performance for concealed carry, home defense, or competition. Over the past two decades, Sadowski has written for many magazines and websites, including,,, and more. His print work has appeared in Combat Handguns, Ballistic, Real World Survivor, Guns Digest, Guns of the Old West, SHOT Business, and more. He is currently the Treasurer/Secretary of the Glock Collectors Association. After receiving an MA from New York University, he worked for a number of magazine publishers and advertising agencies. Sadowski is a lifelong hunter, competitive shooter, and native of Connecticut. He now lives in North Carolina to take full advantage of our 2nd Amendment privilege.


  1. Hi. I thought you should know that this information is a year out of date. The good news is that as of April 12, 2022 Georgia is a Constitutional Carry state and no longer requires a Weapons Carry License.

  2. You are incorrect about Georgia requiring a license to carry openly. Please See O.C.G.A. 16-11-126. Georgia does not differientiate between open and concealed carry.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here