Florida is a shall-issue state. Florida concealed weapons licenses are issued at the state level by the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS). Shall Issue means that as long as a pistol permit/conceal carry permit applicant passes the basic requirements set out by state law, the issuing authority (county sheriff, police department, state police, etc.) is compelled to issue a permit.
Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Gun in Florida?
Yes, there is a 3-day waiting period with some counties requiring a waiting period of up to five days. The waiting period is waved for holders of a Florida Concealed Weapon license.
Who Is Eligible To Obtain a Pistol Permit/Conceal Carry Permit in Florida?
Any state resident who is at least 21 years of age who has completed a firearm training course. Any domestic violence conviction or active warrants for misdemeanor or felony will disqualify you from obtaining a pistol permit.
Is There A Firearms Training Requirement in Florida For A Conceal Carry Permit?
Yes. A conceal carry permit applicant in Florida must complete a state approved firearm training course and demonstrate knowledge of firearms safety prior to being issued a pistol permit/conceal carry permit.
What are the requirements to obtain a handgun permit in Florida?
Guidelines to obtain a Florida gun permit:
- Be at least 21 years old
- Must be a resident of Florida
- Be a U.S. citizen
- Be a suitable person to be licensed
- Completed a handgun competency course
What are the steps to obtain a gun permit in Florida?
Applications for a Florida conceal carry handguns permits are available online, go to: fdacs.gov
Florida conceal carry license applications can be made in person or by mail.
Step 1: Obtain an application from the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (fdacs.gov)
Step 2: Compete a firearm training competency course
Step 3: Obtain a passport-style photo and set of fingerprints
Step 4: Submit the application, firearm training documentation, photo, fingerprints, and fees
How much does a Florida conceal carry permit cost?
The fee for a Florida conceal carry permit costs about $42 for the fingerprint processing plus $55 for the license fee.
Does Florida Recognize Pistol Permits From Other States?
Yes. Florida will recognize concealed weapon licenses issued by other states if the other state agrees to recognize Florida concealed weapon licenses.
Is Florida a Constitutional Carry State?
No, Florida does not allow constitutional carry.
Is Florida an Open Carry State?
No, Florida is not an open carry state, but does have exceptions such as when engaged in fishing, camping, lawful hunting, or target practice at an indoor range.
Is Florida a Stand Your Ground State?
Yes, Florida is a Castle Doctrine state where there is no duty to retreat. Florida is a Stand Your Ground state.
Are AR-Style and Other Semi-Auto Rifles Legal in Florida?
Yes, magazine-fed semi-auto rifles are legal to buy and possess in Florida.
Are Standard-Capacity Magazines Allowed in Florida?
Yes. In Florida, there are no state magazine-capacity restrictions.
What Are Florida Gun Storage Laws?
Yes, In Florida the law for storing firearms when children are present states it is unlawful to recklessly leave a loaded firearm in a manner that would endanger a minor under the age of 16.
Is Florida a Red Flag State?
Yes. Florida has a Red Flag law that allows the police to get judicial approval to confiscate, for up to a year, the firearms of a person deemed a danger to themselves or others.
DISCLAIMER: Gun-Tests.com provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.