Delaware is a may-issue state. Concealed carry is legal in Delaware with a Concealed Deadly Weapon License (CDWL) and licenses are available to residents at least 18 years old. Concealed carry permits are issued at the county level by the prothonotary office.
Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Firearm in Delaware?
No, there is no waiting period to get a permit to buy a firearm in Delaware.
Is A Permit Required To Purchase A Handgun In Delaware?
No, in Delaware a permit is not required to purchase firearms.
Do You Need To Register Handguns in Delaware?
No, handguns, rifles and shotguns do not have to be registered in Delaware.
Who Is Eligible To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Deadly Weapon License (CDWL) in Delaware?
Any Delaware state resident who is at least 18 years of age can apply for a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Deadly Weapon License (CDWL).
Is Firearms Training A Requirement in Delaware For a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Deadly Weapon License (CDWL)?
Yes, in Delaware a firearms training course is required for a for a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Deadly Weapon License (CDWL).
What Are The Requirements To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Deadly Weapon License (CDWL) in Delaware?
Guidelines to obtain a Delaware Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Deadly Weapon License (CDWL):
- Delaware resident, 18 years of age
- Complete a firearms safety course
- Have 5 references
- Must meet federal law requirements
What Are The Steps To Obtain A Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Deadly Weapon License (CDWL) in Delaware?
In Delaware you need to apply for a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Deadly Weapon License (CDWL) by downloading and completing an application on the Delaware Courts website: courts.delaware.gov. You will need 5 references to fill out a questionnaire which is also found on the Delaware Courts website. A requirement is to arrange with a newspaper of general circulation in your county to have your application published at least 10 business days before the filing of your application with the court. Obtain an affidavit from the newspaper company stating that this requirement has been met and attach it to your application. You will also need to be fingerprinted, call the State Bureau of Identification at (302) 739-2528 and you will be given the address of the Delaware State Police Troop to report to. You can complete the firearms training course certificate 90 days after submitting the application. You will be notified if your application has been approved.
Step 1: Download and complete an application
Step 2: Complete a firearms training course
Step 3: Obtain affidavit from the newspaper company
Step 4: Make an appointment to be finger printed
Step 5: Have 5 references complete the questionnaire
Step 3: Take the notarized application to the prothonotary office, or mail it to the prothonotary office in the county in which you reside along with your set of fingerprints, 2 passport style photographs, firearms training certificate, references, and fee
How Much Does A Delaware Concealed Carry Permit Cost?
The fee for a Delaware Concealed Handgun Permit or Concealed Deadly Weapon License (CDWL) is $65.
Does Delaware Recognize Concealed Carry Pistol Permits From Other States?
Yes, Delaware honors permits issued by other states that recognize Delaware licenses to carry concealed deadly weapons.
Is Delaware a Constitutional Carry State?
No, Delaware is not a constitutional carry state.
Is Delaware an Open Carry State?
Yes, open carry is legal in Delaware without a permit for any person at least 21 years of age who can legally possess a firearm.
Is Delaware a Castle Doctrine State?
Yes, Delaware is a Castle Doctrine state. There is no duty to retreat before defending yourself.
Are AR-Style and Other Semi-Auto Rifles Legal in Delaware?
No. Delaware bans numerous specifically named semi-automatic centerfire rifles, semi-automatic shotguns, and semi-automatic pistols. The law also bans “copycat” assault weapons, which are defined as being a firearm that while not specifically listed as a banned assault weapon, is either a semi-automatic centerfire rifle, semi-automatic shotgun, or semi-automatic pistol with one or more specific banned cosmetic features.
Are Standard-Capacity Magazines Allowed in Delaware?
No, in Delaware, magazines capable of holding more than 17 rounds are prohibited.
Does Delaware Have Gun Storage Laws?
Yes, the Delaware gun storage law requires firearms be stored locked, unloaded, and separate from ammunition in certain circumstances from persons under18 years of age.
Is Delaware a Red Flag State?
Yes, Delaware is a Red Flag state. A family member of a person or a law enforcement officer may file a petition prohibiting and enjoining a person from controlling, owning, purchasing, possessing, having access to or receiving a firearm.
DISCLAIMER: Gun-Tests.com provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.