Hawaii is a shall-issue state. Concealed carry permits are issued at the county level by the Chief of Police. Anyone resident of Hawaii at least 21 years old can apply for a concealed carry license in Hawaii, but must show reason to fear injury to his or her person or property.
Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a handgun in Hawaii?
Yes, there is a 14-day wait period in Hawaii when applying for a purchase permit except for sales to persons with a license to carry a handgun.
Is A Permit Required To Purchase A Handgun In Hawaii?
Yes. In Hawaii a permit is required to purchase a handgun.
Do You Need To Register Handguns in Hawaii?
Yes, in Hawaii handguns as well as rifles and shotguns need to be registered.
Who Is Eligible To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit in Hawaii?
Any Hawaii state resident who is at least 21 years of age can apply for a Concealed Carry Permit.
Is Firearms Training A Requirement in Hawaii For a Concealed Carry Permit?
Yes, a concealed carry permit applicant in Hawaii must complete a firearms safety course.
What Are The Requirements To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit in Hawaii?
Guidelines to obtain a Hawaii a Concealed Carry Permit:
- Be at least 21 years old
- Must be a legal resident of Hawaii
- Must meet federal law requirements
- Completed a firearms safety course
- Show reason to fear injury to his or her person or property
What Are The Steps To Obtain A Concealed Carry Permit in Hawaii?
In Hawaii you need to contact your county chief of police and provide the reason you fear injury to your person or property. This starts the concealed carry permit process and varies with county chief of police.
How Much Does A Hawaii Concealed Carry Permit Cost?
The fee for a Hawaii concealed carry permit is $52.
Does Hawaii Recognize Concealed Carry Pistol Permits From Other States?
No, Hawaii does not honor concealed carry permits from other states.
Is Hawaii a Constitutional Carry State?
No, Hawaii is not a constitutional carry state.
Is Hawaii an Open Carry State?
Yes, Hawaii allows open carry, but requires a license to carry.
Is Hawaii a Stand Your Ground State?
Yes, Hawaii is a Castle Doctrine state or a Stand Your Ground state. There is no duty to retreat from one’s home or business. Outside of one’s home or business, there is a duty to retreat if it can be done in complete safety.
Are AR-Style and Other Semi-Auto Rifles Legal in Hawaii?
Yes, magazine-fed semi-auto rifles are legal to buy and possess in Hawaii; however, magazine-fed AR pistols with two or more banned features are illegal.
Are Standard-Capacity Magazines Allowed in Hawaii?
Depends. In Hawaii, any handgun magazine with a capacity of more than 10 rounds is prohibited. There is no restriction on rifle-magazine capacity.
Does Hawaii Have Gun Storage Laws?
Yes, the Hawaii gun storage law requires persons from storing firearms on property they control when they know or reasonably should know that a minor or person under the age of 18 is likely to gain access to the firearm without the permission of the parent or guardian of the minor.
Is Hawaii a Red Flag State?
Yes, the Hawaii Red Flag law states a law enforcement officer, family or household member, medical professional, educator, or colleague, may file a petition. If granted, the respondent shall not own, purchase, possess, receive, transfer ownership of, or have in the respondent’s custody or control, or attempt to purchase, receive, or transfer ownership of, any firearm or ammunition while the order is in effect.
DISCLAIMER: Gun-Tests.com provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.