A Firearm Owners Identification (FOID) card is required for Illinois residents to legally possess firearms or ammunition. Illinois is a shall-issue state with the Illinois State Police issuing a concealed carry license. Anyone resident of Illinois at least 21 years old can apply for a concealed carry license in Illinois.
Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Gun in Illinois?
Yes, there is a 72 hour waiting period to buy a gun in Illinois.
Is A Permit Required To Purchase A Gun In Illinois?
Yes. Illinois residents must obtain a Firearm Owners Identification (FOID) card. The FOID license is also needed to buy ammunition.
Do You Need To Register Handguns in Illinois?
No, handguns, rifles and shotguns do not have to be registered in Illinois.
Who Is Eligible To Obtain a Concealed Carry License (CCL) in Illinois?
Any Illinois state resident who is at least 21 years of age can apply for a Concealed Carry License (CCL).
Is Firearms Training A Requirement in Illinois For a Concealed Carry License (CCL)?
Yes, Illinois requires an applicant complete a 16-hour firearms training course taught by a state-approved instructor.
What Are The Requirements To Obtain a Concealed Carry License (CCL) in Illinois?
Guidelines to obtain an Illinois Concealed Carry License (CCL):
- Be at least 21 years old
- Must be a legal resident of Illinois
- Must meet federal law requirements
- Must have a valid Firearm Owners Identification (FOID) card
What Are The Steps To Obtain A Concealed Carry License (CCL) in Illinois?
In Illinois you need to apply for Firearm Owners Identification (FOID) card application which can be downloaded from the Illinois State Police Firearms Services Bureau website: ispfsb.com. For the Firearm Owners Identification (FOID) card you will need a valid Illinois driver’s license or state identification card, a passport style photograph and $10 fee. The Illinois Concealed Carry License (CCL) online application is found at the Illinois State Police Firearms Services Bureau website: ispfsb.com. You will be notified 90 days after processing, or 120 days if electronic fingerprints are not provided.
Step 1: Apply for a Firearm Owners Identification (FOID) card
Step 2: Complete a firearm training course taught by a state-approved instructor
Step 3: When you receive your Illinois Firearm Owners Identification (FOID) card, complete an online application for an Illinois Concealed Carry License (CCL) and submit: A valid Illinois driver’s license or state ID, an Illinois State Police user ID and password, an electronic copy of your firearm training certificate, a valid FOID or a FOID in process, an electronic photo, and provide the last 10 years of residency. NOTE: Submitting fingerprints are optional, however, the Illinois State Police Firearms Services Bureau has an additional 30 days to review an application that does not include fingerprints.
How Much Does An Illinois Concealed Carry License (CCL) Cost?
The fee for an Illinois Concealed Carry License (CCL) is $153.53.
Does Illinois Recognize Concealed Carry Pistol Permits From Other States?
No, Illinois does not honor any Concealed Carry Permits from any other state.
Is Illinois a Constitutional Carry State?
No, Illinois is not a constitutional carry state.
Is Illinois an Open Carry State?
No, open carry of a handgun on your person or in a vehicle is illegal in Illinois.
Is Illinois a Stand Your Ground State?
Yes, Illinois is a Castle Doctrine state or a Stand Your Ground state. There is no duty to retreat before defending yourself.
Are AR-Style and Other Semi-Auto Rifles Legal in Illinois?
Yes and No. Many magazine-fed semi-auto rifles are legal to buy and possess in Illinois; however, Cook County, the city of Chicago, and several Chicago suburbs have banned the possession of firearms that they have defined as “assault weapons.”
Are Standard-Capacity Magazines Allowed in Illinois?
Yes, in Illinois, some higher-capacity magazines are legal; however, there are some state-level restrictions on magazine capacity.
Do Firearms Need To Be Registered In Illinois?
No, firearms do not need to be registered in Illinois.
Does Illinois Have Gun Storage Laws?
Yes, the gun storage law in Illinois makes it unlawful for a person to store or leave a firearm unlocked and accessible to a minor under the age of 14 if the person knows or has reason to believe that the minor is likely to gain access to the firearm and the minor causes death or great bodily harm with that firearm.
Is Illinois a Red Flag State?
Yes, the Illinois Red Flag law states a family members or the police can petition a judge to issue an order to confiscate the firearms of a person deemed an immediate and present danger to themselves or others. The person’s firearms must be returned to them within six months unless the court finds grounds to renew the suspension.
DISCLAIMER: Gun-Tests.com provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.