Kansas Gun Laws

If you’re looking to obtain a legal firearm in Kansas, here are some facts about Kansas gun laws.

0

Kansas is a shall-issue, permitless carry state. In Kansas, open carry and concealed carry are legal without a license. Any person at least 18 years of age and legally entitled to possess a firearm may open carry a firearm in public without a license or permit. Permitless concealed carry is legal for anyone at least 21 years old that is not prohibited from carrying a firearm. The minimum age to obtain a provisional Concealed Carry Handgun License (CCHL) is 18 years old and 21 years old to obtain a standard Concealed Carry Handgun License (CCHL). Applications are issued at the state level by the State Patrol.

Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Gun in Kansas?

No, there is no waiting period to buy a gun in Kansas.

Is A Permit Required To Purchase A Handgun In Kansas?

No, no permit is required to purchased a firearm in Kansas.

Do You Need To Register Handguns in Kansas?

No, handguns, rifles and shotguns do not have to be registered in Kansas.

Who Is Eligible To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Carry Handgun License (CCHL) in Kansas?

Any Kansas state resident who is at least 18 years of age can apply for a provisional Concealed Carry Handgun License (CCHL) and 21 years old can apply for a standard Concealed Carry Handgun License (CCHL).

Is Firearms Training A Requirement in Kansas For a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Carry Handgun License (CCHL)?

Yes, in Kansas an 8-hour firearms training course must be completed to obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Carry Handgun License (CCHL).

What Are The Requirements To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Carry Handgun License (CCHL) in Kansas?

Guidelines to obtain a Kansas Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Carry Handgun License (CCHL):

  • Be at least 21 years old
  • Must be a legal resident of Kansas
  • Complete an 8-hour firearms safety course
  • Have read the Kansas Personal and Family Protection Act and be familiar with its provisions
  • Must meet federal law requirements

What Are The Steps To Obtain A Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Carry Handgun License (CCHL) in Kansas?

In Kansas you need to apply for a Concealed Handgun Permit or Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) by downloading and reading the Kansas Personal and Family Protection Act and be familiar with its provisions on the Kansas Attorney General website: ag.ks.gov. Download and fill out an application from the Kansas Attorney General website: ag.ks.gov. You will be fingerprinted when you submit the conceal carry application. Fees are paid by check; one check for $100.00 payable to the Office of the Attorney General and one for $32.50 payable to the Sheriff of the applicant’s county of residence. You will be notified in 90 days if your application has been approved.

Step 1: Complete a firearms safety course

Step 2: Download and read the Kansas Personal and Family Protection Act and be familiar with its provisions

Step 3: Download and fill out the application

Step 4: Go to the sheriff’s office in your county of residence with the application, firearm training certificate, photo ID, passport style photograph, and money orders for fees.

How Much Does A Kansas Concealed Carry Permit Cost?

The fee for a Kansas Concealed Handgun Permit or Carry Handgun License (CCHL) is $132.50.

Does Kansas Recognize Concealed Carry Pistol Permits From Other States?

Kansas has permitless carry so anyone 21 years of age and older who can legally possess a firearm may carry a concealed firearm without a license or permit.

Is Kansas a Constitutional Carry State?

Yes, Kansas is a constitutional carry state.

Is Kansas an Open Carry State?

Yes, open carry is legal in Kansas without a license or permit for anyone at least 18 years of age and legally entitled to possess a firearm.

Is Kansas a Castle Doctrine State?

Yes, Kansas is a Castle Doctrine state with a Stand Your Ground statue. There is no duty to retreat before defending yourself.

Are AR-Style and Other Semi-Auto Rifles Legal in Kansas?

Yes, magazine-fed semi-auto rifles are legal to buy and possess in Kansas.

Are Standard-Capacity Magazines Allowed in Kansas?

Yes, in Kansas, there are no state magazine-capacity restrictions.

Does Kansas Have Gun Storage Laws?

No, Kansas does not have a gun storage law.

Is Kansas a Red Flag State?

No, Kansas does not have a Red Flag law.

DISCLAIMER: Gun-Tests.com provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.

Previous articleIllinois Gun Laws
Next articleKentucky Gun Laws
Having been trained by many top-shelf handgun, shotgun, AR carbine, and long-range shooting instructors, Robert Sadowski brings a user's perspective to Gun Tests. He has authored and edited 15 books on firearm values, firearm disassembly and assembly, and gun guides. His Book Of Glock (Skyhorse Publishing) debuted as an Amazon #1 New Release and is a must-read for the Glock enthusiast. His latest book, 9MM - Guide to America's Most Popular Caliber (Gun Digest Books), is an indispensable resource on the 9mm and understanding the cartridge's performance for concealed carry, home defense, or competition. Over the past two decades, Sadowski has written for many magazines and websites, including tacticallife.com, range365.com, shootingillustrated.com, personaldefenseworld.com and more. His print work has appeared in Combat Handguns, Ballistic, Real World Survivor, Guns Digest, Guns of the Old West, SHOT Business, and more. He is currently the Treasurer/Secretary of the Glock Collectors Association. After receiving an MA from New York University, he worked for a number of magazine publishers and advertising agencies. Sadowski is a lifelong hunter, competitive shooter, and native of Connecticut. He now lives in North Carolina to take full advantage of our 2nd Amendment privilege.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here