Kentucky is a shall-issue, permitless carry state, meaning concealed carry is legal for anyone at least 21 years old who can legally possess a firearm without a license/permit. Kentucky concealed carry licenses or Concealed Carry of Deadly Weapons (CCDW) licenses are issued to persons who want to conceal carry out-of-state. Kentucky concealed carry licenses or Concealed Carry of Deadly Weapons (CCDW) licenses are processed by the State Police.
Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Gun in Kentucky?
No, there is no waiting period to buy a gun in Kentucky.
Is A Permit Required To Purchase A Handgun In Kentucky?
No, no permit is required to purchased a firearm in Kentucky.
Do You Need To Register Handguns in Kentucky?
No, handguns, rifles and shotguns do not have to be registered in Kentucky.
Who Is Eligible To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Carry of Deadly Weapons (CCDW) licenses in Kentucky?
Any Kentucky state resident who is at least 21 years of age can apply for a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Carry of Deadly Weapons (CCDW) licenses.
Is Firearms Training A Requirement in Kentucky For a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Carry of Deadly Weapons (CCDW)?
Yes, Kentucky requires a state-approved firearms training course to obtain a concealed carry permit.
What Are The Requirements To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Carry of Deadly Weapons (CCDW) in Kentucky?
Guidelines to obtain a Kentucky Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Carry of Deadly Weapons (CCDW):
- Be at least 21 years old
- Must be a legal resident of Kentucky
- Be a US citizen
- Must meet federal law requirements
- Must complete an approved firearm training course
What Are The Steps To Obtain A Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Carry of Deadly Weapons (CCDW) in Kentucky?
In Kentucky you need to apply for a Concealed Handgun Permit Concealed Carry of Deadly Weapons (CCDW) by completing an application at your local sheriff’s office. You will asked to sign the application under oath. You will be notified in 90 days if your application has been approved.
Step 1: Complete a firearms training course
Step 2: Go to your local sheriff’s office with a passport-style photograph and fee, and complete an application
How Much Does A Kentucky Concealed Carry Permit Cost?
The fee for a Kentucky Concealed Handgun Permit is $60.
Does Kentucky Recognize Concealed Carry Pistol Permits From Other States?
Yes, Kentucky recognizes all currently valid concealed carry permits issued by other states.
Is Kentucky a Constitutional Carry State?
Yes, Kentucky is a constitutional carry state.
Is Kentucky an Open Carry State?
Yes, open carry in Kentucky is legal without a license for residents at least 18 years of age that are not prohibited from possessing a firearm.
Is Kentucky a Stand Your Ground State?
Yes, Kentucky is a Castle Doctrine state and has a Stand Your ground law. There is no duty to retreat.
Are AR-Style and Other Semi-Auto Rifles Legal in Kentucky?
Yes, magazine-fed semi-auto rifles are legal to buy and possess in Kentucky.
Are Standard-Capacity Magazines Allowed in Kentucky?
Yes, in Kentucky, there are no state magazine-capacity restrictions.
Does Kentucky Have Gun Storage Laws?
No, Kentucky does not have a gun storage law that specifies how firearms should be stored.
Is Kentucky a Red Flag State?
No, Kentucky is not a Red Flag law state.
DISCLAIMER: Gun-Tests.com provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.