Louisiana is a shall-issue state with concealed carry permits or Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) issued at the state level by the Department of Public Safety. Anyone resident of Louisiana at least 21 years old can apply for a concealed carry license or Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) in Louisiana.
Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Gun in Louisiana?
No, there is no waiting period to buy a gun in Louisiana.
Is A Permit Required To Purchase A Handgun In Louisiana?
No, no permit is required to purchased a firearm in Louisiana.
Do You Need To Register Handguns in Louisiana?
No, handguns, rifles and shotguns do not have to be registered in Louisiana.
Who Is Eligible To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) in Louisiana?
Any Louisiana state resident who is at least 21 years of age can apply for a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP).
Is Firearms Training A Requirement in Louisiana For a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP)?
Yes, in Louisiana a firearms training course must be completed to obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP).
What Are The Requirements To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) in Louisiana?
Guidelines to obtain a Louisiana Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP):
- Be at least 21 years old
- Must be a legal resident of Louisiana
- Complete a firearms safety course
- Must meet federal law requirements
What Are The Steps To Obtain A Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) in Louisiana?
In Louisiana you need to apply for a Concealed Handgun Permit or Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) by downloading an application from the Louisiana State Police website, lsp.org, or fill out an online application at: chp-web.dps.louisiana.gov. You will be notified if your application has been approved.
Step 1: Complete a firearms safety course
Step 2: Download an application or fill out an online application
Step 3: Contact your local police office, sheriff’s department or State Police Headquarters in Baton Rouge for a fingerprinting appointment
Step 4: Mail the completed and notarized application, your state ID, firearm training certificate, and fee to:
Louisiana State Police
Concealed Handgun Permit Unit
P.O. Box 66375
Baton Rouge, LA 70896
How Much Does A Louisiana Concealed Carry Permit Cost?
The fee for a Louisiana Concealed Handgun Permit is $125.
Does Louisiana Recognize Concealed Carry Pistol Permits From Other States?
Yes, Louisiana honors concealed carry permits issued by states that recognize Louisiana concealed carry permits.
Is Louisiana a Constitutional Carry State?
No, Louisiana is not a constitutional carry state.
Is Louisiana an Open Carry State?
Yes, open carry is legal in Louisiana without a permit for anyone at least 18 years old that is not prohibited from possessing a firearm.
Is Louisiana a Castle Doctrine State?
Yes, Louisiana is a Castle Doctrine state with a Stand Your Ground statue. There is no duty to retreat before defending yourself.
Are AR-Style and Other Semi-Auto Rifles Legal in Louisiana?
Yes, magazine-fed semi-auto rifles are legal to buy and possess in Louisiana.
Are Standard-Capacity Magazines Allowed in Louisiana?
Yes, in Louisiana, there are no state magazine-capacity restrictions.
Does Louisiana Have Gun Storage Laws?
No, Louisiana does not have a gun storage law.
Is Louisiana a Red Flag State?
No, Louisiana is not a Red Flag law state.
DISCLAIMER: Gun-Tests.com provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.