Massachusetts is a shall-issue state with concealed carry permits or Licenses to Carry (LTC) are issued at local police stations. A Massachusetts concealed carry permit or License to Carry (LTC) applicant must be 21 years of age.
Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Gun in Massachusetts?
No. There is no waiting period to purchase a firearm in Massachusetts, however, a Firearm Identification (FID) card or License to Carry (LTC) is required to purchase a firearm.
Do Handguns need to be registered in Massachusetts?
Yes, in Massachusetts all sellers of firearms must report firearms sales and transfers to the Department of Criminal Justice Information Services.
Is A Permit Required To Purchase A Firearm In Massachusetts?
Yes, in Massachusetts a Firearm Identification (FID) card or License to Carry (LTC) is required to purchase a firearm.
Who Is Eligible To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or License to Carry (LTC) in Massachusetts?
Any Massachusetts resident who is at least 21 years of age can apply for a concealed carry permit or License to Carry (LTC).
Is Firearms Training A Requirement in Massachusetts For a Concealed Carry Permit or License to Carry (LTC)?
Yes, in Massachusetts a state-approved firearms training course is not required for a Concealed Carry Permit.
What Are The Requirements To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or License to Carry (LTC) in Massachusetts?
Guidelines to obtain a Massachusetts concealed gun permit include:
- Be at least 21 years old
- Be a legal resident of the United States
- Complete a firearms training course
- Reside in Massachusetts
- Meet federal law requirements
What are the steps to obtain a concealed gun permit in Massachusetts?
To obtain a Massachusetts concealed carry permit or License to Carry (LTC) you need to download and complete an application from the Massachusetts State website: mass.gov. Your local firearms licensing office may have additional specific requirements. A permit is issued within 40 days if approved.
Step 1: Complete a state-approved firearms safety course
Step 2: Download and compete an application
Step 3: Submit the completed application to your local law enforcement along with proof of residence, valid photo ID, fingerprint cards, firearms safety course certificate, and fee.
How much does a Massachusetts concealed gun permit cost or License to Carry (LTC)?
A Massachusetts License to Carry (LTC) costs $36.
Does Massachusetts Recognize Pistol Permits From Other States?
No, Massachusetts does not honors concealed carry permits from other states.
Is Massachusetts a Constitutional Carry State?
No, Massachusetts is not a Constitutional Carry state.
Is Massachusetts an Open Carry State?
Yes, Massachusetts allows Open Carry for anyone with the proper license.
Is Massachusetts a Stand Your Ground State or Castle Doctrine State?
Yes, Massachusetts is a stand your ground state or Castle Doctrine state. In Massachusetts there is no duty to retreat inside a person’s home, however, there is a duty to retreat outside of a person’s home.
Are AR-Style and Other Semi-Auto Rifles Legal in Massachusetts?
Yes, but limited. Massachusetts uses a two-point banned-features system to define an “assault weapon,” and if a semi-automatic rifle has these two features, ownership is prohibited.
Are Standard-Capacity Magazines Allowed in Massachusetts?
No, magazine capacity over 10 rounds is prohibited.
Does Massachusetts Have Gun Storage Laws?
Yes, Massachusetts gun storage law states that all guns must be stored in a locked container or equipped with a tamper-resistant mechanical lock or other safety device.
Is Massachusetts a Red Flag State?
Yes, Massachusetts is a Red Flag law state. An immediate family member of a person or a law enforcement officer may file a petition ordering the immediate suspension and surrender of any license to carry firearms or firearm identification card which the respondent may hold, as well as order the respondent to surrender all firearms, rifles, shotguns, machine guns, weapons or ammunition which the respondent then controls, owns or possesses.
Does Massachusetts have ammunition restrictions?
Yes, Massachusetts restricts sale of ammunition to any person with a license to carry is allowed to purchase, possess and carry ammunition. The minimum age to purchase handgun ammunition is 21 years old.
DISCLAIMER: Gun-Tests.com provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.