Maine is a shall-issue, permitless carry state. Open carry and concealed carry are legal in Maine without a license for any person 21 years of age or older who can legally possess a firearm. A concealed carry license is not needed but Maine does issue Carry Concealed Handguns (CCHs) to residents for reciprocity purposes. Concealed carry permits or Carry Concealed Handguns (CCHs) are issued at the state level by the Department of Public Safety through the Maine State Police.
Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Gun in Maine?
No. Maine does not have a waiting period to buy a firearm.
Do Handguns need to be registered in Maine?
No. In Maine firearms do not have to be registered.
Is A Permit Required To Purchase A Firearm In Maine?
No, in Maine a permit is not required to purchase firearms.
Who Is Eligible To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Carry Concealed Handguns (CCH) in Maine?
Any Maine resident who is at least 18 years of age can apply for a concealed carry permits or or Carry Concealed Handguns (CCH).
Is Firearms Training A Requirement in Maine For a Concealed Carry Permit or Carry Concealed Handguns (CCH)?
No, Maine does not require a firearms training course for a concealed carry permit, however, applicants must demonstrate to the issuing authority a knowledge of handgun safety.
What Are The Requirements in Maine To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Carry Concealed Handguns (CCH)?
Guidelines to obtain a Maine concealed gun permit include:
- Be at least 21 years old
- Be a citizen of the US
- Reside in Maine
- Demonstrate a knowledge of handgun safety or complete a firearms training class
- Meet federal law requirements
What are the steps to obtain a gun permit in Maine?
To obtain a Maine Concealed Carry Permit or Carry Concealed Handguns (CCH) you need to download and complete an application from the State of Maine website: maine.gov. A permit is issued within 30 days, if approved.
Step 1: Read the Maine concealed carry pamphlet: Laws Relating to Permits to Carry Concealed Handguns, which can be downloaded from the State of Maine website: maine.gov
Step 2: Complete a firearms safety class, if required
Step 3: Download and compete the application found on the State of Maine website: maine.gov
Step 4: Mail the completed application to state police or take it to your local police along with two Authority to Release Information forms, valid copy of a birth certificate, one passport photograph, firearms training certificate, and fees.
How much does a Maine Concealed Carry Permit or Carry Concealed Handguns (CCH) cost?
A Maine Concealed Carry Permit or Carry Concealed Handguns (CCH) costs $35.
Does Maine Recognize Pistol Permits From Other States?
Yes, since Maine is a permitless carry state, any person at least 21 years old who can legally possess a firearm may carry a concealed firearm without a license or permit.
Is Maine a Constitutional Carry State?
Yes, Maine is a Constitutional Carry state. Anyone 21 years or older can legally carry any firearm openly or concealed, even without a license.
Is Maine an Open Carry State?
Yes, Open Carry is legal in Maine without a permit.
Is Maine a Stand Your Ground State or Castle Doctrine State?
Yes, Maine is a Castle Doctrine state, however, Maine is not a stand your ground state so you have a duty to retreat outside of your dwelling.
Are AR-Style and Other Semi-Auto Rifles Legal in Maine?
Yes, magazine-fed semi-auto rifles are legal to buy and possess in Maine.
Are Standard-Capacity Magazines Allowed in Maine?
Yes, in Maine, there are no state magazine-capacity restrictions.
Does Maine Have Gun Storage Laws?
No, Maine has no gun storage law that requires unattended firearms to be stored in a certain way.
Is Maine a Red Flag State?
Yes, Maine has a version of a Red Flag law that is different from most Red Flag states. Maines law requires that a medical practitioner must first sign off on any request to take weapons away to determine a person’s mental condition.
DISCLAIMER: Gun-Tests.com provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.