Michigan Gun Laws

If you’re looking to obtain a legal firearm in Michigan, here are some facts about Michigan gun laws.


Michigan is a shall-issue state. Concealed carry permits or Concealed Pistol License (CPL) are issued at the county level by county clerks. Anyone resident of Michigan at least 21 years old can apply for a concealed carry license in Michigan.

Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Gun in Michigan?

No, there is no waiting period to buy a gun in Michigan.

Is A Permit Required To Purchase A Handgun In Michigan?

Yes, a handgun purchase permit is required to buy a handgun in Michigan, however, no permit is needed to buy a rifle or shotgun.

Do You Need To Register Handguns in Michigan?

Yes, all handgun sales require a Pistol Sales Record (RI-60) form to be filed with the Michigan State Police, However, rifles and shotguns do not need to be registered in Michigan.

Who Is Eligible To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit in Michigan?

Any Michigan state resident who is at least 21 years of age can apply for a Concealed carry permits or Concealed Pistol License (CPL).

Is Firearms Training A Requirement in Michigan For a Concealed Carry Permit?

Yes, an applicant must complete a firearm training course in Michigan to obtain a Concealed carry permits or Concealed Pistol License (CPL).

What Are The Requirements To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit in Michigan?

Guidelines to obtain a Michigan Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Pistol License (CPL):

  • Be at least 21 years old
  • Must be a legal resident of Michigan
  • Must meet federal law requirements

What Are The Steps To Obtain A Concealed Carry Permit in Michigan?

In Michigan you can get an application at your local county clerk’s office or download an application for a Concealed Handgun Permit or License to Carry Firearms (LCF) from the Michigan State Police website: michigan.gov/msp. You will be notified by mail within 45 days if your application has been approved.

Step 1: Complete a firearms training course

Step 2: Download or get an application at your local county clerk’s office

Step 3: Take the unsigned, completed application to your local county clerk’s office with your firearm training certificate, a passport-quality photograph, and the fee.

Step 4: Have classifiable fingerprints taken by your local county clerk, state police, sheriff’s office, local police agency or other entity that provides fingerprinting services. Provide the application receipt to the provider.

How Much Does A Michigan Concealed Carry Permit Cost?

The fee for a Michigan Concealed Handgun Permit or License to Carry Firearms (LCF) is $100.

Does Michigan Recognize Concealed Carry Pistol Permits From Other States?

Yes, Michigan honors resident licenses from all states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico.

Is Michigan a Constitutional Carry State?

No, Michigan is not a constitutional carry state.

Is Michigan an Open Carry State?

Yes, open carry is legal in Michigan without a license for residents that are at least 18 years old and who can legally possess a firearm, provided the gun is registered in their name.

Is Michigan a Stand Your Ground State?

Yes, Michigan is a Castle Doctrine state or a Stand Your Ground state. There is no duty to retreat before defending yourself.

Are AR-Style and Other Semi-Auto Rifles Legal in Michigan?

Yes, magazine-fed semi-auto rifles are legal to buy and possess in Michigan.

Are High Capacity Magazines Allowed in Michigan?

Yes, in Michigan, there are no state magazine-capacity restrictions.

Does Michigan Have Gun Storage Laws?

No, Michigan does not have a gun storage law.

Is Michigan a Red Flag State?

No, Michigan does not have a Red Flag law.

DISCLAIMER: Gun-Tests.com provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.

Previous articleMaine Gun Laws
Next articleMinnesota Gun Laws
Having been trained by many top-shelf handgun, shotgun, AR carbine, and long-range shooting instructors, Robert Sadowski brings a user's perspective to Gun Tests. He has authored and edited 15 books on firearm values, firearm disassembly and assembly, and gun guides. His Book Of Glock (Skyhorse Publishing) debuted as an Amazon #1 New Release and is a must-read for the Glock enthusiast. His latest book, 9MM - Guide to America's Most Popular Caliber (Gun Digest Books), is an indispensable resource on the 9mm and understanding the cartridge's performance for concealed carry, home defense, or competition. Over the past two decades, Sadowski has written for many magazines and websites, including tacticallife.com, range365.com, shootingillustrated.com, personaldefenseworld.com and more. His print work has appeared in Combat Handguns, Ballistic, Real World Survivor, Guns Digest, Guns of the Old West, SHOT Business, and more. He is currently the Treasurer/Secretary of the Glock Collectors Association. After receiving an MA from New York University, he worked for a number of magazine publishers and advertising agencies. Sadowski is a lifelong hunter, competitive shooter, and native of Connecticut. He now lives in North Carolina to take full advantage of our 2nd Amendment privilege.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here