Minnesota gun laws generally operate on a shall-issue policy, but Minnesota is not officially a shall-issue state. Concealed carry permits or Permit to Carry a Pistol (PCP) are at the local level by the Sheriff’s office in the applicant’s county of residence. Anyone resident of Minnesota at least 21 years old can apply for a concealed carry license in Minnesota.
Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Gun in Minnesota?
No, there is no waiting period to buy a gun in Minnesota.
Is A Permit Required To Purchase A Handgun In Minnesota?
Yes, in Minnesota a permit to purchase is required to buy handguns and long guns that have a pistol grip, however, a Permit to Carry a Pistol also acts as a permit to purchase for Minnesota residents. Other long guns may be purchased without a permit.
Do You Need To Register Handguns in Minnesota?
No. Handguns, rifles and shotguns do not have to be registered in Minnesota.
Who Is Eligible To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit in Minnesota?
Any Minnesota state resident who is at least 21 years of age can apply for a Concealed Carry Permit or Permit to Carry a Pistol (PCP).
Is Firearms Training A Requirement in Minnesota For a Concealed Carry Permit?
Yes, Minnesota concealed carry permit applicants are required to take a firearms training course.
What Are The Requirements To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit in Minnesota?
Guidelines to obtain an Minnesota Concealed Carry Permit:
- Be at least 21 years old
- Must be a legal resident of Minnesota
- Must complete a firearms safety course
- Must meet federal law requirements
What Are The Steps To Obtain A Concealed Carry Permit in Minnesota?
In Minnesota you need to apply online for a Concealed Handgun Permit by going to the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension website: dps.mn.gov/divisions/bca. Application processing time is 30 days.
Step 1: Complete a firearms training course
Step 2: Pick up an application at your local sheriffs office or download Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension website
Step 3: Submit the completed application, certificate of firearms training, driver’s license or stat ID, and fee to your local sheriff’s office
How Much Does A Minnesota Concealed Carry Permit Cost?
The fee for a Minnesota Concealed Carry Permit is $100.
Does Minnesota Recognize Concealed Carry Pistol Permits From Other States?
Yes, Minnesota recognizes concealed carry permits from states with similar requirements.
Is Minnesota a Constitutional Carry State?
No, Minnesota is not a constitutional carry state.
Is Minnesota an Open Carry State?
Yes, open carry is legal in Minnesota with a Minnesota Permit to Carry a Pistol (PCP) .
Is Minnesota a Stand Your Ground State?
No, Minnesota is not a Castle Doctrine state or a Stand Your Ground state. There is a duty to retreat.
Are AR-Style and Other Semi-Auto Rifles Legal in Minnesota?
Yes, magazine-fed semi-auto rifles are legal to buy and possess in Minnesota.
Are Standard-Capacity Magazines Allowed in Minnesota?
Yes, in Minnesota, there are no state magazine-capacity restrictions.
Does Minnesota Have Gun Storage Laws?
Yes, Minnesota does not have a gun storage law that states it is against the law to store or leave a loaded firearm where a person knows, or should reasonably know, that a child under 18 years old is likely to gain access to it.
Is Minnesota a Red Flag State?
No, Minnesota does not have a Red Flag law.
DISCLAIMER: Gun-Tests.com provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.