North Dakota Gun Laws

If you’re looking to obtain a legal firearm in North Dakota, here are some facts about North Dakota gun laws.


North Dakota is a shall-issue, permitless carry state. In North Dakota, open carry and concealed carry are legal with a Concealed Weapon License (CWL). Anyone over 18 years old who can legally possess a firearm can legally conceal carry a handgun and open carry with a license. There are two concealed carry permits available in North Dakota: Class 1 and Class 2. The Class 1 license have reciprocity in more states than the Class 2 license. Concealed carry permits are issued at the state level by the attorney general.

Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Firearm in North Dakota?

No, there is no waiting period to get a permit to buy a firearm in North Dakota.

Is A Permit Required To Purchase A Handgun In North Dakota?

No, in North Dakota a permit is not required to purchase firearms.

Do You Need To Register Handguns in North Dakota?

No, handguns, rifles and shotguns do not have to be registered in North Dakota.

Who Is Eligible To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Weapon License (CWL) in North Dakota?

Any North Dakota state resident who is at least 18 years of age can apply for a Class 2 Concealed Weapon License (CWL) and anyone 21 can apply for a Class 1 Concealed Weapon License (CWL).

Is Firearms Training A Requirement in North Dakota For a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Weapon License (CWL)?

In North Dakota a firearms training course is required for a Class 1 concealed carry permit, however, a firearms training course is not required to obtain the Class 2 concealed carry permit.

What Are The Requirements To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Weapon License (CWL) in North Dakota?

Guidelines to obtain a North Dakota Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Weapon License (CWL):

  • North Dakota resident, 18 years of age for Class 2 concealed carry license, 21 for Class 1 concealed carry permit
  • Complete a firearms safety course

What Are The Steps To Obtain A Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Weapon License (CWL) in North Dakota?

In North Dakota you need to apply for a Concealed Handgun Permit or Concealed Weapon License (CWL) by completing an application online on the North Dakota State Government website:

You will need to print the application after it is completed. All applicants must pass a written, open-book test based on the Concealed Weapon License Manual, available on the North Dakota Attorney General website: You will be notified in 60 days if your application has been approved.

Step 1: Determine the type of permit

Step 2: Complete a firearms safety course

Step 3: Complete online application and print it out

Step 4: Make an appointment with a concealed carry test administrator; take test and bring a copy of the printed application

Step 5: Mail application along with copy of driver’s license or state ID, 2 passport-style photographs, 2 fingerprint cards, and cashiers check or money order for fee to:


P.O. Box 1054

Bismarck ND 58502

How Much Does A North Dakota Concealed Carry Permit Cost?

The fee for a North Dakota concealed carry permit is $60.

Does North Dakota Recognize Concealed Carry Pistol Permits From Other States?

Yes, North Dakota will honor a valid concealed carry license/permit issued by a state that has agreed to recognize a North Dakota license.

Is North Dakota a Constitutional Carry State?

Yes, North Dakota is a constitutional carry state.

Is North Dakota an Open Carry State?

Yes, open carry is legal in North Dakota for residents with a Concealed Weapon License (CWL).

Is North Dakota a Castle Doctrine State?

North Dakota law is based on the Castle Doctrine. North Dakota has a Stand Your Ground law. There is no duty to retreat before defending yourself.

Are AR-Style and Other Semi-Auto Rifles Legal in North Dakota?

Yes, magazine-fed semi-auto rifles are legal to buy and possess in North Dakota.

Are Standard-Capacity Magazines Allowed in North Dakota?

Yes, in North Dakota, higher-capacity magazines are legal.

Does North Dakota Have Gun Storage Laws?

No, North Dakota does not have a specific gun storage law.

Is North Dakota a Red Flag State?

No, North Dakota is not a Red Flag state.

DISCLAIMER: provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.

Previous articleMississippi Gun Laws
Next articleMontana Gun Laws
Robert Sadowski
Having been trained by many top-shelf handgun, shotgun, AR carbine, and long-range shooting instructors, Robert Sadowski brings a user's perspective to Gun Tests. He has authored and edited 15 books on firearm values, firearm disassembly and assembly, and gun guides. His Book Of Glock (Skyhorse Publishing) debuted as an Amazon #1 New Release and is a must-read for the Glock enthusiast. His latest book, 9MM - Guide to America's Most Popular Caliber (Gun Digest Books), is an indispensable resource on the 9mm and understanding the cartridge's performance for concealed carry, home defense, or competition. Over the past two decades, Sadowski has written for many magazines and websites, including,,, and more. His print work has appeared in Combat Handguns, Ballistic, Real World Survivor, Guns Digest, Guns of the Old West, SHOT Business, and more. He is currently the Treasurer/Secretary of the Glock Collectors Association. After receiving an MA from New York University, he worked for a number of magazine publishers and advertising agencies. Sadowski is a lifelong hunter, competitive shooter, and native of Connecticut. He now lives in North Carolina to take full advantage of our 2nd Amendment privilege.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here