Montana is a shall-issue, permitless carry state, with concealed weapons permits or a Montana Concealed Weapons Permits (MCWP) processed on a local level by the county sheriff’s office. A concealed carry permit is only required for certain public areas. A Montana concealed carry applicant must be 18 years of age.
Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Gun in Montana?
No. Montana does not have a waiting period to buy a firearm.
Do Handguns need to be registered in Montana?
No. In Montana firearms do not have to be registered.
Is A Permit Required To Purchase A Firearm In Montana?
No, in Montana a permit is not required to purchase firearms.
Who Is Eligible To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit in Montana?
Any Montana resident who is at least 18 years of age can apply for a concealed carry permit.
Is Firearms Training A Requirement in Montana For a Concealed Carry Permit or Montana Concealed Weapons Permit (MCWP)?
No, Montana doesn’t require firearms safety training, however, an applicant for a Montana Concealed Weapons Permit (MCWP) must demonstrate familiarity with a firearm.
What Are The Requirements in Montana To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Montana Concealed Weapons Permit (MCWP)?
Guidelines to obtain a Montana concealed gun permit include:
- Be at least 18 years old
- Be a legal resident of the United States
- Reside in Montana
- Meet federal law requirements
What are the steps to obtain a gun permit in Montana?
To obtain a Montana Concealed Weapons Permit (MCWP) you need to get an application from your local sheriff’s office or download and complete an application from the Montana Department of Justice website: dojmt.gov. You will be fingerprinted when you submit the application. A permit is issued within 60 days if approved.
Step 1: Compete a firearms training course, if required
Step 2: Complete the application
Step 3: Submit the completed application to your local law enforcement office along with three completed and signed reference forms, valid photo ID, certificate from firearms course, and fee.
How much does a Montana Concealed Carry Permit or Montana Concealed Weapons Permit (MCWP) cost?
A Montana Concealed Weapons Permit (MCWP) costs $60.
Does Montana Recognize Pistol Permits From Other States?
Yes, Montana honors permits from states that require criminal records background checks.
Is Montana a Constitutional Carry State?
Yes, Montana is a Constitutional Carry state and allows any person to conceal carry a weapon without a concealed weapon permit, so long as that person is eligible to possess a firearm under state or federal law.
Is Montana an Open Carry State?
Yes, Open Carry is legal in Montana without a permit.
Is Montana a Stand Your Ground State or Castle Doctrine State?
Yes, Montana is a stand your ground state or Castle Doctrine state. In Montana there is no duty to retreat.
Are AR-Style and Other Semi-Auto Rifles Legal in Montana?
Yes, magazine-fed semi-auto rifles are legal to buy and possess in Montana.
Are Standard-Capacity Magazines Allowed in Montana?
Yes, there are no magazine-capacity restrictions in Montana.
Does Montana Have Gun Storage Laws?
No, Montana does not have a gun storage law.
Is Montana a Red Flag State?
No, Montana is not a Red Flag law state.
DISCLAIMER: Gun-Tests.com provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.