North Carolina is a shall-issue state with concealed carry permits issued by the county sheriff. Anyone resident of North Carolina at least 21 years old can apply for a concealed carry license or Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) in North Carolina.
Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Gun in North Carolina?
No, there is no waiting period to buy a gun in North Carolina.
Is A Permit Required To Purchase A Handgun In North Carolina?
Yes, a permit is required to purchased a firearm in North Carolina, however, no permit is required to purchase a rifle or a shotgun.
Do You Need To Register Handguns in North Carolina?
No, handguns, rifles and shotguns do not have to be registered in North Carolina.
Who Is Eligible To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) in North Carolina?
Any North Carolina state resident who is at least 21 years of age can apply for a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP).
Is Firearms Training A Requirement in North Carolina For a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP)?
Yes, North Carolina requires a firearms training course that has been approved by the state.
What Are The Requirements To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) in North Carolina?
Guidelines to obtain a North Carolina Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun Permit:
- Be at least 21 years old
- Must be a legal resident of North Carolina
- Must meet federal law requirements
- Must complete an approved firearm training course
What Are The Steps To Obtain A Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) in North Carolina?
In North Carolina you need to apply for a Concealed Handgun Permit by picking up or downloading an application from your county sheriff’s office. NOTE: You will need to sign a release authorizing disclosure to the sheriff of any records relating to your mental health, and you will be fingerprinted at the sheriff’s office. You will be notified if your application has been approved.
Step 1: Complete a firearms training course
Step 2: Download or pick up an application and fill out the unsigned application
Step 3: Take the unsigned application, your firearms training certificate, proof of residence, passport, and fee to your local county sheriff’s office
How Much Does A North Carolina Concealed Carry Permit Cost?
The fee for a North Carolina Concealed Handgun Permit is $90, but can vary by county.
Does North Carolina Recognize Concealed Carry Pistol Permits From Other States?
Yes, North Carolina recognizes permits from all states.
Is North Carolina a Constitutional Carry State?
No, North Carolina is not a constitutional carry state.
Is North Carolina an Open Carry State?
Yes, open carry is legal in North Carolina without a permit, however, some counties have additional regulations.
Is North Carolina a Stand Your Ground State?
Yes, North Carolina is a Castle Doctrine state or a Stand Your Ground state. There is no duty to retreat before defending yourself.
Are AR-Style and Other Semi-Auto Rifles Legal in North Carolina?
Yes, magazine-fed semi-auto rifles are legal to buy and possess in North Carolina.
Are Standard-Capacity Magazines Allowed in North Carolina?
Yes, in North Carolina, higher capacity magazines are legal.
Does North Carolina Have Gun Storage Laws?
Yes, North Carolina does have a gun storage law that requires all gun owners to keep firearms locked or out of the reach of children.
Is North Carolina a Red Flag State?
No, North Carolina is not a Red Flag law state.
DISCLAIMER: Gun-Tests.com provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.