Nebraska is a shall-issue carry state. Residents over 21 years old can apply for a concealed carry permit or Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) in Nebraska. Concealed carry permits are issued at the state level by the State Patrol Department.
Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Firearm in Nebraska?
No, there is no waiting period to get a permit to buy a firearm in Nebraska.
Is A Permit Required To Purchase A Handgun In Nebraska?
Yes, in Nebraska a Firearm Purchase Permit is required to buy handguns, which are issued by the sheriff in your local county. You can also buy a handgun with a Nebraska-issued Concealed Handgun Permit. No permit is required to purchase long guns.
Do You Need To Register Handguns in Nebraska?
Yes, in Nebraska the city of Omaha requires the registration of all handguns. The city of Lincoln requires reporting of handguns sales. Long guns do not need to be registered.
Who Is Eligible To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) in Nebraska?
Any Nebraska state resident who is at least 21 years of age can apply for a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP).
Is Firearms Training A Requirement in Nebraska For a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP)?
Yes, in Nebraska a state-approved firearms training course must be completed to obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP).
What Are The Requirements To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) in Nebraska?
Guidelines to obtain a Nebraska Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP):
- Nebraska resident, 21 years of age
- Complete a firearms safety course
- Complete a vision test
- Must meet federal law requirements
What Are The Steps To Obtain A Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) in Nebraska?
In Nebraska you need to apply for a Concealed Handgun Permit or Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) by downloading an application on the Nebraska State Patrol website: statepatrol.nebraska.gov. Or you can pick up an application from the Nebraska State Patrol headquarters. A Nebraska driver’s license proves your vision was tested and passed. If you do not have a Nebraska driver’s license, download the vision statement form from the State Patrol website, schedule a vision test and provide the form for completion by your eye doctor. You will be fingerprinted and photographed. You will be notified in 5 days if your application has been approved.
Step 1: Complete a firearms safety course
Step 2: Complete an eye exam if you do not have a Nebraska driver’s license
Step 3: Complete an application and have it notarized
Step 4: Bring the notarized application, your firearm training certificate, proof of vision, proof of citizenship, proof of address, and fee to your local State Patrol office.
How Much Does A Nebraska Concealed Carry Permit Cost?
The fee for a NebraskaConcealed Handgun Permit or Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) is $100.
Does Nebraska Recognize Concealed Carry Pistol Permits From Other States?
Yes, Nebraska will recognize permits issued by states which have similar standards as Nebraska.
Is Nebraska a Constitutional Carry State?
No, Nebraska is not a constitutional carry state.
Is Nebraska an Open Carry State?
Yes, open carry is legal in Nebraska without a permit for anyone at least 18 years of age that is not prohibited from possessing a firearm, however, open carry may be restricted by local governments.
Is Nebraska a Castle Doctrine State?
Yes, Nebraska is a Castle Doctrine state. There is no duty to retreat before defending yourself.
Are Assault Rifles Legal in Nebraska?
Yes, assault rifles are legal in Nebraska.
Are High Capacity Magazines Allowed in Nebraska?
Yes, in Nebraska, higher capacity magazines are legal.
Does Nebraska Have Gun Storage Laws?
No, Nebraska does not have a specific gun storage law.
Is Nebraska a Red Flag State?
No, Nebraska does not have a Red Flag law.
DISCLAIMER: Gun-Tests.com provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.