Ohio is a shall-issue state with concealed carry permits issued by the county sheriff. Anyone resident of Ohio at least 21 years old can apply for a concealed carry license in Ohio.
Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Gun in Ohio?
No, there is no waiting period to buy a gun in Ohio.
Is A Permit Required To Purchase A Gun In Ohio?
No, a permit is not required to purchased a firearm in Ohio.
Do You Need To Register Handguns in Ohio?
No, handguns, rifles and shotguns do not have to be registered in Ohio.
Who Is Eligible To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun License in Ohio?
Any Ohio state resident who is at least 21 years of age can apply for a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun License.
Is Firearms Training A Requirement in Ohio For a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun License?
Yes, Ohio requires a concealed carry permit or Concealed Handgun License applicant complete an approved 8-hour firearms training course.
What Are The Requirements To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun License in Ohio?
Guidelines to obtain an Ohio Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun License:
- Be at least 21 years old
- Must be a legal resident of Ohio
- Must meet federal law requirements
- Must complete an approved firearm training course
What Are The Steps To Obtain A Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun License in Ohio?
In Ohio you need to apply for a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun License by downloading an application from the Ohio State Attorney General website: ohioattorneygeneral.go. NOTE: You will need to sign the application at the sheriff’s office and you will be fingerprinted at the sheriff’s office. You will also need to certify that you have read the read the Ohio Concealed Carry Laws and License Application manual, which is online at Ohio State Attorney General website. You will be notified within 45 days if your application has been approved.
Step 1: Complete a firearms training course
Step 2: Download and fill out the unsigned application
Step 3: Make an appointed with your county sheriff’s office and take the unsigned application, your firearms training certificate, passport-style photo, and fee to your local county sheriff’s office
How Much Does An Ohio Concealed Carry Permit Cost?
The fee for an Ohio Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun License is $67.
Does Ohio Recognize Concealed Carry Pistol Permits From Other States?
Yes, Ohio honors permits issue from other states.
Is Ohio a Constitutional Carry State?
Yes, Ohio is a constitutional carry state which allows residents to carry a concealed handgun without a permit.
Is Ohio an Open Carry State?
Yes, open carry is legal in Ohio to any resident who legally owns the firearm.
Is Ohio a Stand Your Ground State?
Yes, Ohio is a Castle Doctrine state or a Stand Your Ground state. There is no duty to retreat before defending yourself.
Are AR-Style and Other Semi-Auto Rifles Legal in Ohio?
Yes, magazine-fed semi-auto rifles are legal to buy and possess in Ohio.
Are Standard-Capacity Magazines Allowed in Ohio?
Yes. There are no state laws restricting magazine capacities in Ohio.
Does Ohio Have Gun Storage Laws?
No, Ohio does not have a gun storage law.
Is Ohio a Red Flag State?
No, Ohio is not a Red Flag law state.
DISCLAIMER: Gun-Tests.com provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.