Utah allows both open carry and concealed carry is legal for anyone at least 21 years old who may lawfully possess a firearm. However, Utah is a shall-issue state with concealed carry permits or Concealed Firearm Permits (CFP) are offered for individuals interested in reciprocity to carry in other states. The Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification issues Concealed Firearm Permits. A Utah Concealed Firearm Permits (CFP) applicant must be 21 years of age.
Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Gun in Utah?
No. There is no waiting period to buy a firearm in Utah.
Do handguns need to be registered in Utah?
No, in Utah handguns and long guns do not need to be registered.
Is A Permit Required To Purchase A Handgun In Utah?
No, in Utah a permit is not required to purchase a handgun.
Who Is Eligible To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Firearm Permits (CFP) in Utah?
Any Utah resident who is at least 21 years of age can apply for a concealed carry permit or Concealed Firearm Permits (CFP).
Is Firearms Training A Requirement in Utah For a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Firearm Permits (CFP)?
Yes, in Utah a firearms safety course certified by the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification is required.
What Are The Requirements To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Firearm Permits (CFP) in Utah?
Guidelines to obtain a Utah concealed gun permit:
- Be at least 21 years old
- Be a legal resident of the United States
- Reside in Utah
- Complete an approved firearm safety course
- Pass a National Instant Criminal Background Check
- Pass a mental health records check
What are the steps to obtain a gun permit in Utah?
To obtain a Utah concealed carry permit or Concealed Firearm Permits (CFP) you need to download and complete an application Utah Department of Public Safety website: bci.utah.gov. You will be fingerprinted when you submit the application. A permit is issued within 60 days if approved.
Step 1: Compete a firearms safety course certified by the Bureau of Criminal Identification
Step 2: Download and complete an application
Step 3: Have fingerprints taken at the Bureau of Criminal Identification or through your local law enforcement agency and obtain a passport-quality photograph taken at the Bureau of Criminal Identification or other provider
Step 4: Submit the completed application along with fingerprints and passport photos, firearms safety certificate, and fee through mail or in person to the Bureau of Criminal Identification
How much does a Utah gun permit cost?
It costs $53.25 for a Utah concealed carry permit.
Does Utah Recognize Pistol Permits From Other States?
Yes, Utah recognizes all other state concealed carry permits.
Is Utah a Constitutional Carry State?
Yes, Utah is a Constitutional Carry state.
Is Utah an Open Carry State?
Yes, Utah is an Open Carry state.
Is Utah a Stand Your Ground State or Castle Doctrine State?
Yes, Utah is a stand your ground state or Castle Doctrine state. In Utah there is no duty to retreat.
Are AR-Style and Other Semi-Auto Rifles Legal in Utah?
Yes, semi-auto rifles are legal to buy and possess in Utah.
Are Standard-Capacity Magazines Allowed in Utah?
Yes, there are no magazine-capacity restrictions in Utah.
Does Utah Have Gun Storage Laws?
No, Utah does not have a gun storage law.
Is Utah a Red Flag State?
No, Utah is not a Red Flag law state.
DISCLAIMER: Gun-Tests.com provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.