Texas allows permitless conceal carry and open for anyone 21 years of age who may lawfully posses a handgun. Texas does not require permit to purchase a long gun nor a handgun.
Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Gun in Texas?
No, there is no waiting period to buy a gun in Texas.
Who Is Eligible To Obtain a Conceal Carry Permit or LTC (License To Carry) in Texas?
Any state resident who is at least 21 years of age, however, Texas law no longer requires people to have a license to carry a handgun.
Is There A Firearms Training Requirement in Texas For A Conceal Carry Permit or LTC (License To Carry)?
Yes, Texas requires an applicant to attend a 4 to 6-hours firearms training course before applying for an LTC or License To Carry permit.
What are the requirements to obtain a handgun permit in Texas?
Guidelines to obtain a Texas gun permit:
- Be at least 21 years old
- Must meet federal qualifications to purchase a handgun
- Completed a handgun competency course
What Are The Steps To Obtain A Conceal Carry Permit or LTC (License To Carry) in Texas?
Applications for a Texas conceal carry handguns permits are available online, go to: texas.gov
Step 1: Apply online and pay fees (texas.gov)
Step 2: Compete a firearm training competency course
Step 3: Obtain a set of fingerprints
Step 4: Submit the application, firearm training documentation, fingerprints, and fees
How much does a Texas conceal carry permit cost?
The fee for a Texas conceal carry permit or LTC (License To Carry) is $40.
Does Texas Recognize Pistol Permits From Other States?
Texas allows permitless carry for any person 21 years of age, who can legally possess a firearm, to carry a concealed firearm without a license or permit.
Is Texas a Constitutional Carry State?
Yes, Texas is constitutional carry state.
Is Texas an Open Carry State?
Yes, in Texas it legal in Texas for most people 21 years old to carry a handgun in a holster without a permit both openly and/or concealed.
Is Texas a Stand Your Ground State?
Yes, Texas is a Castle Doctrine or Stand Your Ground state where there is no duty to retreat.
Are AR-Style and Other Semi-Auto Rifles Legal in Texas?
Yes, magazine-fed semi-auto rifles are legal to buy and possess in Texas.
Are Standard-Capacity Magazines Allowed in Texas?
Yes. There are no state laws restricting magazine capacities in Texas.
Are There Gun-Storage Laws in Texas?
Yes, but only in the case of preventing access to children. There is no specific state law about how firearms and ammunition should be stored safely.
Is Texas a Red Flag State?
No. Texas does not have a Red Flag law.
DISCLAIMER: Gun-Tests.com provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.