Arkansas is a shall-issue, permitless carry state. In Arkansas, open carry and concealed carry are legal without a license. Anyone over 18 years old who can legally possess a firearm can legally conceal carry a handgun without a license. Two types of concealed carry permits or Concealed Handgun Carry Licenses (CHCL) are available in Arkansas. Arkansas offers two types of handgun carry licenses, the Concealed Handgun Carry License (CHCL) and an Enhanced concealed carry license (E-CHCL) which allows for carrying in public places that do not allow concealed carry handguns. The E-CHCL requires approximately 8 hours of firearm training. Concealed carry permits are issued at the state level by the Arkansas Department of Public Safety.
Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Firearm in Arkansas?
No, there is no waiting period to get a permit to buy a firearm in Arkansas.
Is A Permit Required To Purchase A Handgun In Arkansas?
No, in Arkansas a permit is not required to purchase firearms.
Do You Need To Register Handguns in Arkansas?
No, handguns, rifles and shotguns do not have to be registered in Arkansas.
Who Is Eligible To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun Carry Licenses (CHCL) in Arkansas?
Any Arkansas state resident who is at least 21 years of age can apply for a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun Carry Licenses (CHCL).
Is Firearms Training A Requirement in Arkansas For a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun Carry Licenses (CHCL)?
Yes, in Arkansas a firearms training course must be completed to obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun Carry Licenses (CHCL).
What Are The Requirements To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun Carry Licenses (CHCL) in Arkansas?
Guidelines to obtain a Arkansas Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun Carry Licenses (CHCL):
Arkansas resident, 21 years of age
Complete a firearms safety course
Sign a statement of allegiance to the United States and Arkansas Constitutions
Must meet federal law requirements
What Are The Steps To Obtain A Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun Carry Licenses (CHCL) in Arkansas?
In Arkansas you need to apply for a Concealed Handgun Permit or Concealed Handgun Carry Licenses (CHCL) by filling out an online application or download an application on the Arkansas Department of Public Safety website: chcl.ark.org. You will need to obtain fingerprints. You will be notified in 120 days if your application has been approved.
Step 1: Complete a firearms safety course
Step 2: Apply online or download an application and fill it out
Step 3: Have your fingerprints taken at your local law enforcement agency or by a private fingerprinting business
Step 4: Mail the application, your firearm training certificate, fingerprints, and fee to:
Arkansas State Police
1 State Plaza Drive
Little Rock, AR 72209
How Much Does An Arkansas Concealed Carry Permit Cost?
The fee for an Arkansas Concealed Handgun Permit or Permit to Carry Weapons (PCW) is $91.90 for an online application or $88.25 for a paper application.
Does Arkansas Recognize Concealed Carry Pistol Permits From Other States?
Yes, Arkansas has permitless carry so any person who can legally possess a firearm may legally carry a concealed firearm without a license or permit.
Is Arkansas a Constitutional Carry State?
Yes, Arkansas is a constitutional carry state.
Is Arkansas an Open Carry State?
Yes, open carry is legal in Arkansas without a license or permit for anyone at least 18 years of age who can legally possess a firearm.
Is Arkansas a Castle Doctrine State?
Yes, Arkansas is a Castle Doctrine state and a Stand Your Ground law. There is no duty to retreat before defending yourself.
Are AR-Style and Other Semi-Auto Rifles Legal in Arkansas?
Yes, semi-auto rifles are legal in Arkansas.
Are Standard-Capacity Magazines Allowed in Arkansas?
Yes, in Arkansas, here are no state magazine-capacity restrictions.
Does Arkansas Have Gun Storage Laws?
No, Arkansas does not have a specific gun storage law.
Is Arkansas a Red Flag State?
No, Arkansas is not a Red Flag state.
DISCLAIMER: Gun-Tests.com provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.