Wisconsin is a shall-issue state that allows concealed carry for anyone 21 years of age. A Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Weapons License (CWL) is issued by the Wisconsin Department of Justice (DOJ).
Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Gun in Wisconsin?
No, there is no waiting period to buy a gun in Wisconsin.
Is a permit required to purchase a handgun in Wisconsin?
Yes, a permit is not required to purchase a handgun in Wisconsin. You do not need a permit to purchase a long gun in Wisconsin.
Who Is Eligible To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Weapons License (CWL) in Wisconsin?
Any Wisconsin state resident who is at least 21 years of age can apply for a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Weapons License (CWL).
Is Firearms Training A Requirement in Wisconsin For a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Weapons License (CWL)?
Yes, Wisconsin requires an applicant to attend a firearms training course before applying for a Concealed Weapons License (CWL).
What Are The Requirements To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Weapons License (CWL) in Wisconsin?
Guidelines to obtain a Wisconsin Concealed Weapons License (CWL):
- Be at least 21 years old
- Must be a legal resident of Wisconsin
- Must meet federal qualifications to purchase a handgun
- Completed a handgun training course
What Are The Steps To Obtain A Concealed Weapons License (CWL) in Wisconsin?
Applications for a Wisconsin Concealed Weapons License (CWL) are available online at the Wisconsin Department of Justice Concealed Carry website: concealedcarry.doj.wi.gov. You can download an application and mail it in or fill out an online application.
Step 1: Complete a firearm training competency course
Step 2: Compete an application with signatures
Step 3: Submit the application, firearm training documentation, proof of Wisconsin residence, and fee
How much does a Wisconsin concealed carry permit cost?
The fee for a Wisconsin Concealed Weapons License (CWL) is $40.
Does Wisconsin Recognize Concealed Carry Pistol Permits From Other States?
Wisconsin will honor concealed carry permits from states they have reciprocity agreements with.
Is Wisconsin a Constitutional Carry State?
No, Wisconsin is not a constitutional carry state.
Is Wisconsin an Open Carry State?
Yes, open carry is allowed in Wisconsin without a permit nor license for any person who is at least 18 years old and who can legally possess a firearm.
Is Wisconsin a Stand Your Ground State?
Yes, Wisconsin is a Castle Doctrine or Stand Your Ground state. There is no duty to retreat.
Are AR-Style and Other Semi-Auto Rifles Legal in Wisconsin?
Yes, semi-auto rifles are legal to buy and possess in Wisconsin.
Are Standard-Capacity Magazines Allowed in Wisconsin?
Yes. There are no state laws restricting magazine capacities in Wisconsin.
Does Wisconsin Have Gun Storage Laws?
Yes, Wisconsin has a safe storage law, which means a person in Wisconsin is committing a misdemeanor if they knowingly leave a handgun within reach of any person under 14 years old.
Is Wisconsin a Red Flag State?
No, Wisconsin does not have a red flag law.
DISCLAIMER: Gun-Tests.com provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.