Washington State Gun Laws

If you’re looking to obtain a legal firearm in Washington, here are some facts about Washington gun laws.


Washington is a shall-issue state with concealed carry permits or Concealed Pistol Licenses (CPL) issued at the local level by the sheriff or police department. A Washington Concealed Pistol License (CPL) applicant must be 21 years of age.

Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Gun in Washington?

Yes. There is a 10-day waiting period for a background check to buy a semi-automatic assault rifle in Washington.

Do Handguns need to be registered in Washington?

Yes, in Washington retail gun dealers must record and report all retail pistol and sales semiautomatic rifle to local police/sheriff and to state department of licensing.

Is A Permit Required To Purchase A Firearm In Washington?

Yes, in Washington a purchaser of a semi-automatic rifle must provide proof that they have completed a recognized firearm safety training course. There is no requirement to purchase handguns and shotguns.

Who Is Eligible To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Pistol License (CPL) in Washington?

Any Washington resident who is at least 21 years of age can apply for a concealed carry permit or Concealed Pistol Licenses (CPL).

Is Firearms Training A Requirement in Washington For a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Pistol License (CPL)?

No, in Washington a firearms training course is not required for a Concealed Carry Permit.

What Are The Requirements To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Pistol License (CPL) in Washington?

Guidelines to obtain a Washington concealed gun permit include:

  • Be at least 21 years old
  • Be a legal resident of the United States
  • Reside in Washington
  • Meet federal law requirements

What are the steps to obtain a gun permit in Washington?

To obtain a Washington concealed carry permit or Concealed Pistol Licenses (CPL) you need to obtain a for from your local city police department or sheriff’s office or download and complete an application from the Washington State Department of Licensing website: seattle.gov. You will be fingerprinted when you submit the application. A permit is issued within 30 days if approved.

Step 1: Compete an application

Step 2: Submit the completed application to your local law enforcement along with proof of residence, valid photo ID, and fee.

How much does a Washington concealed gun permit or Concealed Pistol License (CPL) cost?

A Concealed Pistol License (CPL) costs $36 for in Washington, plus a fingerprint fee.

Does Washington Recognize Pistol Permits From Other States?

Yes, Washington honors concealed carry permits from other states that meet specific Washington state requirements.

Is Washington a Constitutional Carry State?

No, Washington is not a Constitutional Carry state.

Is Washington an Open Carry State?

Yes, Washington is an Open Carry state for anyone at least 21 years old who is legally allowed to possess a firearm, however, some publics areas are off-limits.

Is Washington a Stand Your Ground State or Castle Doctrine State?

No, Washington is not a stand your ground state or Castle Doctrine state. In Washington there is no duty to retreat.

Are AR-Style and Other Semi-Auto Rifles Legal in Washington?

Yes, semi-auto rifles are legal in Washington persons age 21 years or older and subject to a 10-day waiting period.

Are Standard-Capacity Magazines Allowed in Washington?

Yes, there are no magazine-capacity restrictions in Washington and possession of higher-capacity magazines is not restricted; however, the manufacture, distribution, and sale of magazines that have a capacity of more than 10 rounds is prohibited.

Does Washington Have Gun Storage Laws?

Yes, Washington gun storage law states that any gun owner is legally responsible for keeping their firearm out of the possession of prohibited individuals.

Is Washington a Red Flag State?

Yes, Washington is a Red Flag law state. An immediate family member of a person or a law enforcement office or agency may file a petition requesting that the court issue an extreme risk protection order prohibiting a person from having in his or her custody or control, purchasing, possessing, or receiving a firearm.

DISCLAIMER: Gun-Tests.com provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.

Previous articleVermont Gun Laws
Next articleWisconsin Gun Laws
Robert Sadowski
Having been trained by many top-shelf handgun, shotgun, AR carbine, and long-range shooting instructors, Robert Sadowski brings a user's perspective to Gun Tests. He has authored and edited 15 books on firearm values, firearm disassembly and assembly, and gun guides. His Book Of Glock (Skyhorse Publishing) debuted as an Amazon #1 New Release and is a must-read for the Glock enthusiast. His latest book, 9MM - Guide to America's Most Popular Caliber (Gun Digest Books), is an indispensable resource on the 9mm and understanding the cartridge's performance for concealed carry, home defense, or competition. Over the past two decades, Sadowski has written for many magazines and websites, including tacticallife.com, range365.com, shootingillustrated.com, personaldefenseworld.com and more. His print work has appeared in Combat Handguns, Ballistic, Real World Survivor, Guns Digest, Guns of the Old West, SHOT Business, and more. He is currently the Treasurer/Secretary of the Glock Collectors Association. After receiving an MA from New York University, he worked for a number of magazine publishers and advertising agencies. Sadowski is a lifelong hunter, competitive shooter, and native of Connecticut. He now lives in North Carolina to take full advantage of our 2nd Amendment privilege.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here