Maryland Gun Laws

If you’re looking to obtain a legal firearm in Maryland, here are some facts about Maryland gun laws.


Maryland is a shall-issue state that allows concealed carry for anyone 21 years of age. A Concealed Carry Permit or Wear/Carry Handgun Permit (WCHP) is issued at the state level by the Secretary of the Maryland State Police.

Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Gun in Maryland?

Yes, in Maryland there is a 7-day waiting period between the purchase and delivery of a handgun or assault weapon. However, there is no waiting period to buy a rifle or shotgun in Maryland.

Is A Permit Required To Purchase A Handgun In Maryland?

Yes, a permit is not required to purchase a handgun in Maryland. You do not need a permit to purchase a long gun in Maryland.

Do You Need To Register Handguns in Maryland?

Yes, handguns must be registered in Maryland. Rifles and shotguns do not have to be registered in Maryland.

Who Is Eligible To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Wear/Carry Handgun Permit (WCHP) in Maryland?

Any Maryland state resident who is at least 21 years of age can apply for a Concealed Carry Permit or Wear/Carry Handgun Permit (WCHP).

Is Firearms Training A Requirement in Maryland For a Concealed Carry Permit or Wear/Carry Handgun Permit (WCHP)?

Yes, Maryland requires an applicant to attend a firearms training course before applying for a Concealed Carry Permit or Wear/Carry Handgun Permit (WCHP).

What Are The Requirements To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Wear/Carry Handgun Permit (WCHP) in Maryland?

Guidelines to obtain a Maryland Wear/Carry Handgun Permit (WCHP):

  • Be at least 21 years old
  • Must be a legal resident of Maryland
  • Must meet federal qualifications to purchase a handgun
  • Completed a handgun training course within 2 years of the application

What Are The Steps To Obtain A Wear/Carry Handgun Permit (WCHP) in Maryland?

Online applications for a Maryland Wear/Carry Handgun Permit (WCHP) are at the Maryland State Police Licensing portal website: You must fill out an application online. Applicants are typically approved within 90 days of submittal of a complete application.

Step 1: Complete a firearm training competency course

Step 2: Get fingerprints taken at an Electronic Fingerprint Processing Center that is authorized by the Maryland Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services

Step 3: Compete an online application and submit it with firearm training documentation, 2 passport-style photographs, electronic fingerprints, and fee

How Much Does A Maryland Concealed Carry Permit or Wear/Carry Handgun Permit (WCHP) Cost?

The fee for a Maryland Concealed Carry Permit or Wear/Carry Handgun Permit (WCHP) is $75.

Does Maryland Recognize Concealed Carry Pistol Permits From Other States?

No, Maryland does not honor concealed carry permits from any other states.

Is Maryland a Constitutional Carry State?

No, Maryland is not a constitutional carry state.

Is Maryland an Open Carry State?

No, open carry is not allowed in Maryland without a Maryland Concealed Carry Permit or Wear/Carry Handgun Permit (WCHP).

Is Maryland a Stand Your Ground State?

No, Maryland is not a Castle Doctrine or Stand Your Ground state. There is a duty to retreat or avoid danger if possible.

Are AR-Style and Other Semi-Auto Rifles Legal in Maryland?

No, certain models of semi-auto rifles and pistols are illegal and banned in Maryland.

Are Standard-Capacity Magazines Allowed in Maryland?

No. In Maryland, magazines with a capacity greater than 10 rounds are illegal to purchase, sell or manufacture. However, possession of magazines with a capacity greater than 10 rounds is legal if purchased out of state.

Does Maryland Have Gun Storage Laws?

Yes. It is unlawful in Maryland for any person to store or leave a loaded firearm in a location where the person knew or should have known that an unsupervised child would gain access to the firearm.

Is Maryland a Red Flag State?

Yes. Family members, cohabitants, medical professionals and law enforcement are allowed to petition for an order to surrender to law enforcement any firearm and ammunition in the respondent’s possession; and prohibit the respondent from purchasing or possessing any firearm or ammunition for the duration of the interim and/or final extreme risk protection order.

DISCLAIMER: provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.

Previous articleMassachusetts Gun Laws
Next articleMaine Gun Laws
Robert Sadowski
Having been trained by many top-shelf handgun, shotgun, AR carbine, and long-range shooting instructors, Robert Sadowski brings a user's perspective to Gun Tests. He has authored and edited 15 books on firearm values, firearm disassembly and assembly, and gun guides. His Book Of Glock (Skyhorse Publishing) debuted as an Amazon #1 New Release and is a must-read for the Glock enthusiast. His latest book, 9MM - Guide to America's Most Popular Caliber (Gun Digest Books), is an indispensable resource on the 9mm and understanding the cartridge's performance for concealed carry, home defense, or competition. Over the past two decades, Sadowski has written for many magazines and websites, including,,, and more. His print work has appeared in Combat Handguns, Ballistic, Real World Survivor, Guns Digest, Guns of the Old West, SHOT Business, and more. He is currently the Treasurer/Secretary of the Glock Collectors Association. After receiving an MA from New York University, he worked for a number of magazine publishers and advertising agencies. Sadowski is a lifelong hunter, competitive shooter, and native of Connecticut. He now lives in North Carolina to take full advantage of our 2nd Amendment privilege.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here