Nevada is a shall-issue state with concealed carry permits issued at the county level. Anyone resident of Nevada at least 21 years old can apply for a concealed carry license in Nevada.
Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Gun in Nevada?
No, there is no waiting period to buy a gun in Nevada.
Is A Permit Required To Purchase A Gun In Nevada?
No, a permit is not required to purchased a firearm in Nevada.
Do You Need To Register Handguns in Nevada?
No, handguns, rifles and shotguns do not have to be registered in Nevada.
Who Is Eligible To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit in Nevada?
Any Nevada state resident who is at least 21 years of age can apply for a Concealed Carry Permit.
Is Firearms Training A Requirement in Nevada For a Concealed Carry Permit?
Yes, Nevada requires a concealed carry permit applicant complete an approved firearms training course.
What Are The Requirements To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit in Nevada?
Guidelines to obtain an Nevada Concealed Carry Permit:
- Be at least 21 years old
- Must be a legal resident of Nevada
- Must meet federal law requirements
- Must complete an approved firearm training course
What Are The Steps To Obtain A Concealed Carry Permit in Nevada?
In Nevada you need to apply for a concealed carry permit by downloading or picking up an application at your local county sheriff’s office. NOTE: You need to sign the application in front of a witness at the sheriff’s office. You will also be fingerprinted and photographed at the sheriff’s office. You will be notified if your application has been approved.
Step 1: Complete a concealed firearms qualification course with a live fire component from a certified firearms instructor
Step 2: Fill out the unsigned application
Step 3: Take the unsigned application and your firearms training certificate, proof of residency, proof of citizenship, and fee to your local county sheriff’s office
How Much Does A Nevada Concealed Carry Permit Cost?
The fee for a Nevada Concealed Carry Permit is $100.25.
Does Nevada Recognize Concealed Carry Pistol Permits From Other States?
Yes, Nevada honors permits from other states that meet specific criteria.
Is Nevada a Constitutional Carry State?
No, Nevada is not a constitutional carry state.
Is Nevada an Open Carry State?
Yes, open carry is legal in Nevada. Anyone person 18 years of age and older who can legally possess a firearm may openly carry anywhere in Nevada, however, there are public areas that are off limits to open carry.
Is Nevada a Stand Your Ground State?
Yes, Nevada is a Castle Doctrine state or a Stand Your Ground state. There is no duty to retreat before defending yourself.
Are Assault Rifles Legal in Nevada?
Yes, assault rifles are legal in Nevada.
Are High Capacity Magazines Allowed in Nevada?
Yes, in Nevada, higher capacity magazines are legal.
Does Nevada Have Gun Storage Laws?
Yes, the gun storage law in Nevada makes it a crime for a person to allow a child access to a firearm.
Is Nevada a Red Flag State?
Yes, Nevada has a Red Flag law that authorizes a family or household member or a law enforcement officer to file a verified application to obtain an ex parte or extended order against a person who poses a risk of causing personal injury to himself or herself or another person. This prevents a person from possessing or having under his or her custody or control, or from purchasing or otherwise acquiring any firearm.
DISCLAIMER: Gun-Tests.com provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.