New Mexico is a shall-issue state with concealed carry permits or Concealed Handgun License (CHL) issued at the state level by the Department of Public Safety. Anyone resident of New Mexico at least 21 years old can apply for a concealed carry license in New Mexico.
Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Gun in New Mexico?
No, there is no waiting period to buy a gun in New Mexico.
Is A Permit Required To Purchase A Gun In New Mexico?
No, a permit is not required to purchased a firearm in New Mexico.
Do You Need To Register Handguns in New Mexico?
No, handguns, rifles and shotguns do not have to be registered in New Mexico.
Who Is Eligible To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit in New Mexico?
Any New Mexico state resident who is at least 21 years of age can apply for a Concealed Handgun License (CHL).
Is Firearms Training A Requirement in New Mexico For a Concealed Carry Permit?
Yes, New Mexico requires a 15-hour handgun safety course that includes live-fire instruction.
What Are The Requirements To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit in New Mexico?
Guidelines to obtain an New Mexico Concealed Handgun License (CHL):
- Be at least 21 years old
- Must be a legal resident of New Mexico
- Must meet federal law requirements
- Must complete an approved firearm training course
What Are The Steps To Obtain A Concealed Carry Permit in New Mexico?
In New Mexico you need to Register online on the Gemalto Cogent website (www.aps.gemalto.com/nm/index_NM.htm) where you will register and pay the fee. You can then be fingerprinted at any Gemalto Cogent location after you received your REG ID. Download the application on the New Mexico Department of Public Safety website: www.dps.nm.gov You will be notified in 30 days if your application has been approved.
Step 1: Complete a firearms training course
Step 2: Register online on the Gemalto Cogent website to fill out the application, get your REG ID, and pay the fee
Step 3: Take your REG ID and valid and current ID to any Gemalto Cogent fingerprint location to be finger printed
Step 4: Download and complete the application and gather copies of your birth certificate, firearms training certificate, New Mexico driver’s license, and release forms
Step 5: Mail your application and supporting documents to:
NM Department of Public Safety
SID/Concealed Carry Unit
6301 Indian School Road NE, Suite 310
Albuquerque, NM 87110
How Much Does A New Mexico Concealed Carry Permit Cost?
The fee for a New Mexico Concealed Handgun License is $100.
Does New Mexico Recognize Concealed Carry Pistol Permits From Other States?
Yes, New Mexico only recognizes permits from states with which New Mexico has reciprocity agreements.
Is New Mexico a Constitutional Carry State?
Yes, New Mexico is a constitutional carry state.
Is New Mexico an Open Carry State?
Yes, open carry is legal in New Mexico without a license for persons at least 19 years of age who can legally possess a firearm, however, there are some restricted areas.
Is New Mexico a Stand Your Ground State?
No, New Mexico is not a Castle Doctrine state or a Stand Your Ground state, but persons can exercise their right to self defense.
Are AR-Style and Other Semi-Auto Rifles Legal in New Mexico?
Yes, magazine-fed semi-auto rifles are legal to buy and possess in New Mexico.
Are Standard-Capacity Magazines Allowed in New Mexico?
Yes, in New Mexico, higher capacity magazines are legal.
Does New Mexico Have Gun Storage Laws?
No, New Mexico does not have a gun storage law.
Is New Mexico a Red Flag State?
Yes, New Mexico has a Red Flag law that allows law enforcement officers to file a petition ordering the respondent to surrender all firearms which the respondent then controls, owns or possesses and further enjoins the respondent from purchasing, receiving or attempting to purchase, possess or receive any firearm while the order is in effect.
DISCLAIMER: Gun-Tests.com provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.