New Jersey is a shall-issue state. Concealed weapons permits are issued at the local level by municipal police departments or New Jersey State Police. Applicants must first obtain the approval of their local police chief, then must present his or her application to a superior court judge. A New Jersey concealed carry permit applicant must be 21 years of age.
Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Handgun in New Jersey?
There is no specific waiting period to buy a firearm, however, a permit, called a Firearms Purchaser Identification (FPID) card, is required for each handgun purchase, and the permit is valid for 90 days. Only one handgun can be purchased within a 30-day period.
Do Handguns need to be registered in New Jersey?
Yes, the New Jersey State Police Firearms Investigation Unit maintains a record of all handgun transfers. There is no registration for long guns.
Is A Permit Required To Purchase A Handgun In New Jersey?
Yes, in New Jersey a Firearms Purchaser Identification (FPID) card is required for each handgun purchase, and the permit is valid for 90 days. Only one handgun can be purchased within a 30-day period.
Who Is Eligible To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Permit to Carry a Handgun (PCH) in New Jersey?
Any New Jersey state resident who is at least 21 years of age can apply for a concealed carry permit or Permit to Carry a Handgun (PCH).
Is Firearms Training A Requirement in New Jersey For a Concealed Carry Permit or Permit to Carry a Handgun (PCH)?
Yes, in New Jersey an applicant must complete a firearms safety course.
What Are The Requirements To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Permit to Carry a Handgun (PCH) in New Jersey?
Guidelines to obtain a New Jersey gun permit:
- Be at least 21 years old
- Complete firearms safety training course
- Have three references
- Meet federal law requirements
What are the steps to obtain a gun permit in New Jersey?
To obtain a New Jersey conceal carry handguns permit or Permit to Carry a Handgun (PCH) you need to download an application as well as a Consent For Mental Health form from the New Jersey State Police website: nj.gov/njsp. You will be fingerprinted when you submit the application. A permit is issued within 60 days if the application is approved.
Step 1: Compete a handgun safety course, if required
Step 2: Download and complete the application, and have the application notarized
Step 3: Obtain three references from persons you have known for a minimum of 3 years, and 4 passport-style photographs
Step 4: Submit the application, 4 passport-style photographs, firearms training certificate, Consent For Mental Health form, and fee to your local state police station
How much does a New Jersey gun permit cost?
A New Jersey Concealed Carry Permit or Permit to Carry a Handgun (PCH) costs $50.
Does New Jersey Recognize Pistol Permits From Other States?
No, New Jersey does not honor permits from any other states.
Is New Jersey a Constitutional Carry State?
No, New Jersey is not a Constitutional Carry state.
Is New Jersey an Open Carry State?
Yes, New Jersey is an Open carry state, however, a New Jersey Permit to Carry a Handgun (PCH) is required to carry a firearm in the State.
Is New Jersey a Stand Your Ground State or Castle Doctrine State?
Yes, New Jersey is a Castle Doctrine state. In New Jersey there is no duty to retreat while in a person’s dwelling.
Are AR-Style and Other Semi-Auto Rifles Legal in New Jersey?
No. New Jersey has banned the possession of certain named firearms or “substantially identical” firearms New Jersey has deemed to be assault firearms.
Are Standard-Capacity Magazines Allowed in New Jersey?
No, maximum magazine capacity is 10 rounds in New Jersey.
Does New Jersey Have Gun Storage Laws?
No, New Jersey does not have a gun storage law that requires storing firearms in a certain way.
Is New Jersey a Red Flag State?
Yes, New Jersey has a Red Flag law that allows a family or household member of a person, or law enforcement, to file a petition for an extreme risk protection order, prohibiting a person from having custody or control of, owning, possessing, purchasing or receiving a firearm.
DISCLAIMER: Gun-Tests.com provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.