Tennessee is a shall-issue state. Concealed carry permits are issued at the state level by the Department of Safety & Homeland Security. In Tennessee applicants have two concealed carry permit options, either a concealed handgun carry permit (CHCP) or enhanced handgun carry permit (EHCP). For the concealed handgun carry permit (CHCP) applicants must take a 90-minute online course; for the enhanced handgun carry permit (EHCP) applicants must complete an 8-hour live training course from certified instructors. The enhanced handgun carry permit (EHCP) allows permittees to carry a gun openly or concealed to more places. Anyone resident of Tennessee at least 19 years old can apply for a concealed carry license in Tennessee.
Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a handgun in Tennessee?
No, there is no waiting period to buy a gun in Tennessee.
Is A Permit Required To Purchase A Handgun In Tennessee?
No, in Tennessee a permit is not required to purchase a handgun, rifle or shotgun.
Do You Need To Register Handguns in Tennessee?
No, in Tennessee handguns do not need to be registered.
Who Is Eligible To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun Carry Permit (CHCP) in Tennessee?
Any Tennessee state resident who is at least 19 years of age can apply for a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun Carry Permit (CHCP).
Is Firearms Training A Requirement in Tennessee For a Concealed Carry Permit?
Yes, a concealed carry permit applicant in Tennessee must complete a 90-minute online course for the concealed handgun carry permit (CHCP) or an 8-hour in-person training class from a certified instructor is required for the enhanced handgun carry permit (EHCP).
What Are The Requirements To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit in Tennessee?
Guidelines to obtain a Tennessee a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun Carry Permit (CHCP):
- Be at least 19 years old
- Must be a legal resident of Tennessee
- Must meet federal law requirements
- Completed a firearms training course
What Are The Steps To Obtain A Concealed Carry Permit in Tennessee?
In Tennessee you need to fill out an online application on the Tennessee Department of Safety & Homeland Security website: dl.safety.tn.gov. You will be photographed and be given instructions on being fingerprinted when you submit your application. You will be notified in 90 days if your application has been approved.
Step 1: Compete the online application
Step 2: Complete a firearms training course for either the either a concealed handgun carry permit (CHCP) or enhanced handgun carry permit (EHCP)
Step 3: Schedule an appointment with Driver Services Center on the on the Tennessee Department of Safety & Homeland Security website. Take to the appointment proof of US citizenship, photo ID, proof of residency, and the fee.
How Much Does A Tennessee Concealed Carry Permit Cost?
The fee for a Tennessee concealed handgun carry permit (CHCP) is $65 and the fee for the enhanced handgun carry permit (EHCP) is $100.
Does Tennessee Recognize Concealed Carry Pistol Permits From Other States?
Yes, Tennessee honors all concealed carry permits from other states.
Is Tennessee a Constitutional Carry State?
Yes, Tennessee is a constitutional carry state.
Is Tennessee an Open Carry State?
Yes, Tennessee allows permitless open and concealed carry for anyone that at least 21 years old or older that may lawfully possess a handgun, however, there are exceptions.
Is Tennessee a Stand Your Ground State?
Yes, Tennessee is a Castle Doctrine state or a Stand Your Ground state. There is no duty to retreat before defending yourself.
Are AR-Style and Other Semi-Auto Rifles Legal in Tennessee?
Yes, magazine-fed semi-auto rifles are legal to buy and possess in Tennessee.
Are Standard-Capacity Magazines Allowed in Tennessee?
Yes, in Tennessee, higher capacity magazines are legal.
Does Tennessee Have Gun Storage Laws?
No, Tennessee does not have a gun storage law, but does make it a crime for a parent or guardian from intentionally, knowingly or recklessly providing or permitting a handgun to any person under 18 years old to possess a handgun, if such parent or guardian knows of a substantial risk that such juvenile will use the handgun to commit a felony.
Is Tennessee a Red Flag State?
No, Tennessee does not have a Red Flag law.
DISCLAIMER: Gun-Tests.com provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.