Colleges to Shoot for National Titles in San Antonio


More than 255 shooters from 33 colleges and universities will shoot for a national title in shotgun sports April 10-13 at the National Shooting Complex.

Said Chris Dolnack of the National Shooting Sports Foundation (NSSF), a major sponsor of the annual championship event, “Our sports don’t have 44,000-seat arenas, but if fans want to see Olympic-style shooting by great college athletes, admission is free.”

The championship will consist of four disciplines including international trap and skeet and American trap and skeet. Competition will be held in men’s, women’s and team divisions. Scholarships and spots on Olympic development teams will be awarded.

Lindenwood University will compete for its fifth straight team championship. Standing in the way, though, are pre-registered shooters from:

Blinn College

Colorado State University

Folsom Lake College

Fort Hays State University

George Mason University

Iowa State University

Kansas State University

Mississippi State University

Missouri University of Science and Technology

Oklahoma State University

Ozarka College

Purdue University

Radford University

Sam Houston State University

Schreiner University

Southeastern Illinois College

Texas A&M University

Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi

Trinity University

United States Military Academy

University of Arkansas-Fayetteville

University of Central Missouri

University of Florida

University Of Louisiana-Lafayette

University of Missouri-Columbia

University of Nebraska-Omaha

University of Tennessee-Martin

University of Texas-Arlington

University of Virginia

University of Wyoming

Virginia Tech University

Yale University

Intercollegiate Clay Target Championships sponsors include the Association of College Unions International, NSSF, Winchester, National Rifle Association, Amateur Trapshooting Association and Hall of Fame, USA Shooting and National Skeet Shooting Association/National Sporting Clays Association.

ESPN U will televise the competition at future dates, with major sponsorship from NSSF and Safari Club International.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here