Connecticut Gun Laws 2022: Permit Requirements

If you’re looking to obtain a legal firearm in Connecticut, here are some facts about the permit process.

0

If you’re looking to obtain a gun permit in Connecticut, here are some facts you need to know about the permit process, required documents, and eligibility requirements. Applications are processed by the State Licensing and Firearms Unit (SLFU). Here’s everything you need to know about obtaining a gun permit in Connecticut. Full details of Connecticut’s gun laws can be found on the Connecticut State Government website.

What Is Required To Buy a Gun in Connecticut?

A gun buyer must have either a Connecticut Pistol Permit or a Certificate of Eligibility to purchase a pistol, revolver, long gun or ammunition. Applicants must complete an approved safety course, pass a National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) background check and pass a mental health records check prior to issuance of a Certificate of Eligibility.

What Is Certificate of Eligibility in Connecticut?

An eligibility certificate entitles the holder to purchase a firearm and transport the firearm to their residence or place of business. It does not entitle the holder to carry a firearm on their person.

Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Gun in Connecticut?

There is no waiting period to purchase firearms, but a Connecticut Pistol Permit or a Certificate of Eligibility to purchase a firearm is needed.

Who is eligible to obtain a gun permit in Connecticut?

Any state resident who is at least 21 years of age or non-residents with a valid  CCW permit from another state are eligible to apply.

What are the requirements to obtain a gun permit in Connecticut?

Guidelines to obtain a Connecticut gun permit:

  • Be at least 21 years old.
  • Be a legal resident of the United States.
  • Reside or have a business around the local area you are applying.
  • Complete an approved gun safety training course.
  • Pass a National Instant Criminal Background Check.
  • Pass a mental health records check.

What are the steps to obtain a gun permit in Connecticut?

Connecticut has a two-step permitting process:

Step 1 is 60-day temporary permit issued by local authorities

Step 2 is a 5-year regular permit issued by the DESPP

Below is the documentation and process for obtaining a pistol permit in Connecticut.

  • Complete PISTOL PERMIT/ELIGIBILITY CERTIFICATE APPLICATION form (DPS-799-C) and submit to appropriate local authority (local police, resident state trooper or first select person, as applicable) along with all of the following:
    • Firearms Safety & Use Course Certificate
    • $70.00, fee, payable to the local authority
    • Proof you are legally and lawfully in the United States (e.g., certified copy of birth certificate, U.S. passport or documentation issued by I.C.E.)
  • Submit fingerprints for a criminal history check through a law enforcement agency. Fees include a $75.00 fee and a $13.25 fee, payable at the agency where the prints are taken.
  • Upon approval, the local authority will issue a Temporary State Permit to Carry Pistols and Revolvers, which is effective for 60 days.
  • Within the 60 day period, go to a DESPP, Division of State Police, pistol permit location and submit the following:
    • The Temporary State Permit to Carry Pistols and Revolvers issued by the local authority
    • A completed Application for State Permit to Carry Pistols and Revolvers (DPS-46-C)
    • $70.00 fee, payable to Treasurer, State of Connecticut
    • Proof you are legally and lawfully in the United States (e.g., certified copy of birth certificate, U.S. passport or documentation issued by I.C.E.)
    • Proof of valid state issued photo identification card
  • Upon approval, your photograph will be taken at DESPP and you will be issued a state pistol permit.

Click here to learn more about the requirements and prohibitions.

How much does a Connecticut gun permit cost?

It costs $140 for a new permit, and $70 for a renewal.

Does Connecticut Recognize Pistol Permits From Other States?

It costs $140 for a new permit, and $70 for a renewal.


Connecticut Gun Laws 2022

Is Connecticut a Constitutional Carry State?

No, Connecticut is a May-Issue state which means an applicant must pass basic requirements and the issuing authority may use their own discretion to grant or deny a permit. A Constitutional Carry state means that the state’s law does not prohibit citizens who can legally possess a firearm from carrying handguns openly and/or in a concealed manner.

Is Connecticut an Open Carry State?

Yes, with a pistol permit, which allows you to open carry and conceal carry.

Is Connecticut a Stand Your Ground State?

No. In Connecticut, if you are outside of your home you are required to retreat if you can do so safely and without risk of harm to you or others. However, the Castle Doctrine is part of Connecticut law governing the use of physical force in defense of premises.

Are Assault Riles Legal in Connecticut?

No. Connecticut has banned certain firearms the state defines as “assault weapons” including AR, AK, and SKS style rifles as well as others? These defined “assault weapons” can be legally owned if they were registered with DESPP by January 1, 2014.

Are High Capacity Magazines Allowed in Connecticut?

No, maximum magazine capacity is 10 rounds. Magazines holding more than 10 rounds are considered Large Capacity Magazines and are prohibited.

What Are Connecticut Gun Storage Laws?

Firearms are required to be stored securely if accessible by a minor under 18, a resident who is ineligible to possess a firearm, or someone who poses a risk.

Is Connecticut a Red Flag State?

Yes, Red Flag law, otherwise known as its Risk Warrant or Risk Protection Order statute, that allows authorities to remove firearms from a person’s possession under certain circumstances.

DISCLAIMER: Gun-Tests.com provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here