NRA Kicks Off 2013
Youth Education Summit
Scholarship Program


( — This week, 47 high school students from around the United States are attending the 2013 National Rifle Association Youth Education Summit (Y.E.S.), a seven-day, competitive college scholarship program held in Washington, D.C.

Summit participants will tour memorials and monuments surrounding the nation’s capital as they learn the significance of the American Constitution, the Bill of Rights and the importance of being an active citizen.

Students who excel in the week’s debate and speech activities will be awarded up to $15,000 in college scholarships. An additional $15,000 in scholarships are available after the summit for Y.E.S. students who create a portfolio detailing the promotion of NRA programs, such as Eddie Eagle GunSafe® or Refuse To Be A Victim, in their community.

The 2013 Y.E.S. class was selected from hundreds of qualified applicants. Each prospective attendee completed an extensive application process comprised of essays about the Second Amendment, school transcripts and personal recommendations.

Y.E.S. was launched in 1996 by the National Rifle Association to encourage America’s youth to become active and knowledgeable citizens at the national and local levels. Funding for Y.E.S. is provided by The NRA Foundation through monies raised by grassroots fundraising program Friends of NRA.

2013 Y.E.S. Participants

Lisa Maggi – Northport, Alabama
Grant Goff – Hot Springs, Arkansas
Katelyn Scott – Sierra Vista, Arizona
Julia Clark – Carmel, California
Ryan Kelly Murphy – Temecula, California
Nathaniel Van Evera – Aurora, Colorado
Sean Coffindaffer – Oxford, Connecticut
Charles Welch – Dover, Delaware
Melissa Brizzi – Largo, Florida
Amber Call – Boise, Idaho
Jacquelyn Newberry – Seneca, Illinois
John Fair – O’Fallon, Illinois
Dianna Rulon – Arcadia, Indiana
Kyle Kimmi – Lancaster, Kansas
Seth Evans – Heidrick, Kentucky
Emily Fulton – Grand Cane, Louisiana
Zachary Tan – Finksburg, Maryland
Jason Spaude – Saginaw, Michigan
Jacqueline Callens – Marshall, Minnesota
Valerie Schlotzhauer – New Franklin, Missouri
Matthew Bridges – Anguilla, Mississippi
Abram French – Paradise, Montana
Grayson Logue – Raleigh, North Carolina
Ryan Head – Omaha, Nebraska
Jewel Meyer-Hagen – Albuquerque, New Mexico
Salvatore Triano – Patterson, New York
Christian Miller – Loveland, Ohio
Jay Gilbertson – McAlester, Oklahoma
Mikayla Lewis – Bend, Oregon
Robert Stewart – Tigard, Oregon
Jacob Zieber – West Chester, Pennsylvania
Kristen DeVilliers – Dingmans Ferry, Pennsylvania
Natalie Hunton – Tega Cay, South Carolina
Tyler Heil – Lemmon, South Dakota
Benjamin Mahaffey – Smithville, Tennessee
Hunter Spaeth – Lubbock, Texas
Colton Voorhis – Georgetown, Texas
Rachel Garner – Celina, Texas
Blake Novacek – Joshua, Texas
Eric Babb – Highland, Utah
Lauren Edmonson – Ogden, Utah
Matthew Jones – Jarratt, Virginia
McKenna Dahl – Arlington, Washington
Alexandria Knight – Burlington, Wisconsin
Anna Sommers – Burlington, Wisconsin
Jacob Hanni – Elkview, West Virginia
Alyssa Barnsdale – Lusk, Wyoming


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here