Oregon Gun Laws

If you’re looking to obtain a legal firearm in Oregon, here are some facts about Oregon gun laws.

0

Oregon is a shall-issue state that allows concealed carry for anyone 21 years of age. Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun License (CHL) applications are processed at the county level by the local sheriff’s office.

Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Gun in Oregon?

No, there is no waiting period to buy a gun in Oregon.

Is A Permit Required To Purchase A Gun In Oregon?

No, a permit is not required to purchase a handgun in Oregon, nor do you need a permit to purchase a long gun in Oregon.

Do You Need To Register Handguns in Oregon?

No, handguns do not have to be registered in Oregon, nor do rifles and shotguns have to be registered in Oregon. However, Oregon State Police maintain a record of firearms sales from FFL holders for a period of five years.

Who Is Eligible To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun License (CHL) in Oregon?

Any Oregon state resident who is at least 21 years of age can apply for a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun License (CHL).

Is Firearms Training A Requirement in Oregon For a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun License (CHL)?

No, however, Oregon requires an applicant demonstrate competence with a handgun. This requirement can be met by attend a firearms training course, participation in organized shooting competition or military experience before applying for a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun License (CHL).

What Are The Requirements To Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun License (CHL) in Oregon?

Guidelines to obtain an Oregon Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun License (CHL):

  • Be at least 21 years old
  • Must be a legal resident of Oregon
  • Must meet federal law requirements
  • Demonstrate competence with a handgun

What Are The Steps To Obtain A Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun License (CHL) in Oregon?

Online applications for an Oregon Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun License (CHL) are available at your local county sheriff’s office or website. You will be fingerprinted at your local county sheriff’s office. Applicants are notified by mail if approved.

Step 1: Complete a firearm training course if required

Step 2: Complete an application

Step 3: Take the application along with your firearm training documentation and two forms of ID to your local county sheriff’s office.

How Much Does An Oregon Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun License (CHL) Cost?

The fee for an Oregon Concealed Carry Permit or Concealed Handgun License (CHL) is $115.

Does Oregon Recognize Concealed Carry Pistol Permits From Other States?

No, Oregon does not honor concealed carry permits from any other states.

Is Oregon a Constitutional Carry State?

No, Oregon is not a constitutional carry state.

Is Oregon an Open Carry State?

Yes, open carry is allowed in Oregon without a license, however, some local cities and counties place restrictions on who may open carry in public places.

Is Oregon a Stand Your Ground State?

No, Oregon is not a Castle Doctrine state nor a Stand Your Ground state, however there is no duty to retreat.

Are Assault Rifles Legal in Oregon?

Yes, assault rifles are legal in Oregon.

Are High Capacity Magazines Allowed in Oregon?

No. In Oregon, magazines with a capacity greater than 10 rounds are illegal to purchase or manufacture.

Does Oregon Have Gun Storage Laws?

Yes. Oregon safe storage law requires the owner or possessor of a firearm to, at all times that the firearm is not carried by or under the control of the owner, possessor or authorized person, secure the firearm with an engaged trigger or cable lock, be in a locked container, or in a gun room.

Is Oregon a Red Flag State?

Yes. If a person appears to be in imminent danger of hurting themselves or another person, a police officer or a member of the person’s family or household may petition the court for a one-year order that would prohibit the person from possessing a deadly weapon.

DISCLAIMER: Gun-Tests.com provides this information to subscribers and readers, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of gun laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Gun laws are constantly changing, for legal advice, consult a lawyer in your state.

Previous articleOklahoma Gun Laws
Next articlePennsylvania Gun Laws
Having been trained by many top-shelf handgun, shotgun, AR carbine, and long-range shooting instructors, Robert Sadowski brings a user's perspective to Gun Tests. He has authored and edited 15 books on firearm values, firearm disassembly and assembly, and gun guides. His Book Of Glock (Skyhorse Publishing) debuted as an Amazon #1 New Release and is a must-read for the Glock enthusiast. His latest book, 9MM - Guide to America's Most Popular Caliber (Gun Digest Books), is an indispensable resource on the 9mm and understanding the cartridge's performance for concealed carry, home defense, or competition. Over the past two decades, Sadowski has written for many magazines and websites, including tacticallife.com, range365.com, shootingillustrated.com, personaldefenseworld.com and more. His print work has appeared in Combat Handguns, Ballistic, Real World Survivor, Guns Digest, Guns of the Old West, SHOT Business, and more. He is currently the Treasurer/Secretary of the Glock Collectors Association. After receiving an MA from New York University, he worked for a number of magazine publishers and advertising agencies. Sadowski is a lifelong hunter, competitive shooter, and native of Connecticut. He now lives in North Carolina to take full advantage of our 2nd Amendment privilege.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here